We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to city centre”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #18 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is an excellent small hotel. The rooms are modern and clean and you have access to free internet connection. There is a Bistro Bar below the hotel where very nice food is served. The breakfast is also excellent with a great choice and is made to order, no buffets of hot food. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is 10 mins walk from city centre an close to the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as there is a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed the dining and bar options found at the Huntsman Inn. The food was some of the best in Ireland, and the breakfast options were phenomenal. The room itself was stylish and sleek. The bathroom was also very nice. The only reason I didn't not give a 5-star rating is due to the lack of temperature control and air circulation in the room. There was not a thermostat to control the temperature, so we tried to sleep with the window open. This would typically be fine, but the hotel is located on the corner of two busy streets and there was quite a bit of noise. Give me a ceiling fan next time and it's a 5-star rating!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife & I stayed in the Huntsman on Sat. Sept 3rd this is by far the BEST HOTEL rooms we stayed in,spacious & well laid out & the breakfast was superb,the staff were brillant,would recommend it HIGHLY, we will be back, big Thank You to all concerned. John & Noreen,
Co Clare.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JHtipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We dined in the Huntsman on the first evening of our stay in Galway and really enjoyed it. The food was great. I had Hake and they made it really tasty with the sauce. The childrens food was freshly cooked and not like the supermarket chips and goujons that McSwiggans served the following night. They gave a generous size glass of wine at reasonable price. The staff were obviously very well trained and gave excellent service with a smile and a bit of chat. There prices were very reasonable for high standard of food and service. the third night in Galway we went back to the Hunstman after an unpleasant experience in McSwiggans. We should have went to the Hunstman every evening as the menu was extensive and varied. Well done to the team there. I would definitely recommend it and will go back there on the next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I didn't stay in the hotel, just went for dinner in the bar and tWas nice. I had heard great reviews but I don't think it lived up to the hype. Food was grand, if a little pricey. it does have a nice atmosphere n we stayed for a few drinks after n didn't have to move table, which was good. Fajitas were a bit spicy for my liking but that's just a personal thing!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,861 reviews
1.1 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
921 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.8 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
4.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: The Hunstman 164 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 6,711 - ₹ 11,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsman Inn is one of Galway’s most impressive bars and yet has maintained a personal touch whichwill never fail to make an impression on each and everycustomer. With great food and drink and a friendly atmosphere, we are sure your time spent with us willbe memorable. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing