We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Pathetic”
Review of The Universal

The Universal
Ranked #118 of 462 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 24
Description: Local/Universal
Restaurant details
Description: Local/Universal
Reviewed 22 January 2021

I am a doctor on duty in the area. I went down to take a take away of a sandwich which I eat once a week or twice a week. (Regular loyal customer) Had to use the loo. After ordering my sandwich was refused entry treated very rudely. Went next door to urban grind they were so nice.

No courtesy from the staff in the universal

Why would anyone go back.

Pathetic service.

If the nice owner only new how rude his staff was

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Nik131080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2020

Great food, great pints, great staff, great buzz.

The lemon sole and crab claws were delish.

Lovely atmosphere all round.

Cheers

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank gparkesbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Friends of ours booked this gastro pub for dinner in Galway in September. It's not somewhere i would have choosen myself so i'm very glad that they knew about it and had booked it. We had a great selection of dishes wich we all shared along with some lovely cocktails and wine. Great service on top of the lovely food made it a memorable night and i'll go bacjk next time in Galway city. Highly recommend this place but you'll need to book....

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank simplesimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

A friend and I came for dinner last Saturday and we were beyond impressed with the food, service and overall experience! High quality food! Great selection of delicious organic wine and cocktails!

We look forward to coming back, thanks for a great evening guys! ✨

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank LouiseG1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely evening out, beautiful food, drinks and tunes in the background, would highly recommend thanks

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Universal also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.