We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional”
Review of The Palace

The Palace
Ranked #86 of 2,927 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by here for a drink to experience one amongst a few of the most traditional Irish pubs in Dublin. Drinks are reasonably priced compared to usual city prices. Good pint of Guinness. Incredible historic decor. Felt slightly unwelcome by those who I assume to be locals. Bar staff are lovely and friendly though. Would recommend for those wanting to do the traditional Irish pubs without the hustle and bustle!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lauramP717XA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

I came here around 7pm on a Wednesday. We managed two seats at a small table in the far back left corner. You can get a drink at the bar or at the side door in the back room. I met a gentleman who was out celebrating his retirement with a group and while I offered to buy him his pint, he bought mine instead saying he had plenty of people buying his and he wanted to buy mine since I was a visitor.

There were many cliques here, but we were happy to soak in the environment. The history and charm make it worth the stop alone.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
Thank BrendaJean316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

This pub was recommended in our guidebook. We actually walked by it a few times before we decided to head it. It is very conveniently located in the center of the city. We actually had drinks here two nights. We sat at the bar both times. I will say the first time we were here was on a Tuesday night and the second time on a Friday. There was definitely a contrast between the two days. Friday was much busier, but still enjoyable. We sat at the bar both times. They do have seating along the front of the pub as well as a whole seating room in the back. There is also some seating and standing areas outside for nice days.

We really enjoyed this pub as the bartenders were excellent. They moved very quickly and you could tell they were used to working at the fast pace the bar required. This place is known for their Whiskey collection. They had a very unique mix of whiskeys behind the bar. We found the drinks to be reasonable priced and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. It is one of the oldest pubs in Dublin and definitely has that eclectic vibe. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

One of the Oldest Pubs in Dublin, A pint of Guinness is considerably less than other Temple Bar Pubs. The place was very good and Traditional. A must see visit as it is different from other Pubs in TB. Bartender was very good as he poured the perfect Pint of Guinness!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Willie and the team at the Palace always have such as warm welcome. The Palace Whiskey, Snuff and Guinness what more would you want. The flowing flowers at the palace add such value to the streetscape that credit is deserved.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonathanbrosnan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palace also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing