We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learning Minoan history.”

1916 Rebellion Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 222 Tours in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's original 1916 Tour founded in 1996 and guided by author Lorcan Collins and other experts in Irish revolutionary history. We run daily tours from the International Bar on Wicklow Street.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Learning Minoan history.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very interesting tour, as I rounde the week of learning the history of my own city off with trip to kilmainham and then to glasnevin.
The walking tour was good and reignited what I learned in history class and made me full appreciate it. Tour guide was good and I engaged him in a bit of chat and he told me bit of extra bits.

Helpful?
Thank PaulBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    48
    11
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fascinating history, retold with great passion”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Lorcan has expert in-depth knowledge of the 1916 rebellion and relates the story with an infectious passion - you can almost see the characters such is his skill of bringing the history to life. A 'must do' if you are in any way interested in how independent Ireland was formed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent walking tour- Very informative & entertaining”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I went on this walking tour with my husband, our tour guide Lorcan was excellent- he had an amazing knowledge of the 1916 raising with fantastic story telling skills, he was also very entertaining.

Walking tours are a favourite of mine, I have been on many and in my opinion this was the best- excellent suject, with great delivery from Lorcan.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Evesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must take tour”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

In brief: This tour given by the Highly knowledgeable and Sharply Witted Lorcan Collins and should be a must do on the list of locals and tourists alike. Listen to the story unfold on the streets where it all happened. Unmissable!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CandDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Proceed with Reverence"”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The 100th anniversary of the 1916 rebellion is fast approaching. Ireland is struggling with a new set of cultural and political and economic challenges. Although, in some ways, the modern concerns are similar to the concerns of the early 1900s.... So we may see a revival of Irish nationalism in a new century.... While waiting for the centennial events, proceed with reverence. The 1916 rebellion walking tour is suggested for a start. It's very good. I've participated on two occasions.

Caution: This is not "entertainment" and I don't recommend the tour for all visitors to Dublin. Going to Ireland to see the places that are associated with the 1916 rebellion is like going to the Gettysburg battlefield or to the beaches at Normandy. In some ways, it's like going to the places that are associated with the American civil rights struggles of the 1960s. If possible, do some study in advance. Reflect.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing