We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Was only supposed to stay for one night, but business held me up for an extra night.
Not only were the reception staff helpful in allocating me a room( unreserved I may add), but they retrieved my previous nights form and gave me the same rate.
Rooms were lovely, food was great.
one tiny fault. The t.v. froze on certain channels, but other than that, an lovely hotel, close to the luas and city centre.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Paul B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be so helpful. We aim to excel with our customer service for each and every guest.

I was disappointed you experienced some issues with our TV system. This is an issue we have been tracking and we are delighted to inform you that by the end of this month a new TV system will be in place throughout the hotel which should rectify any issues that occurred.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to post your wonderful review on our hotel.

Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,062 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed with some friends for St. Patricks Day 2012. The staff was helpful. The room was tidy. There were some old stains on the carpet. The bathroom looked quite new and was clean. The taste of the breakfast was in my opinion not so good.
There is a tram station close to the hotel which we didn't use. The stay was altogether really nice and I would stay in the Maldron Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuckyPuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear PuckyPuck78,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location to be so convenient.
I agree that our location is a special key factor and a great advantage to us. Although we are a city centre the area is very peaceful, while still being walking distance to many local attractions such as Jameson Distillery, Guinness Storehouse, Dublin zoo, shopping areas and Temple Bar. Also with the Luas on our doorstep it is extremely convenient for CCD, the O2 and Heuston station.

I was disappointed to hear you found some stains on your carpet. We are currently refurbishing many of the rooms in the hotel including new carpets as well as painting. We do hope to complete the entire hotel in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time post such your review regarding your stay.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a few days in February and it is one of the best places i stayed in Dublin! Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are warm, clean and very comfortable, We had a balcony room which gave fabulous views of the city!. Literally 1 minute walk to the luas stop which takes you to the city centre in a matter of minutes, The museum is a short walk away, and good selection for breakfast. Even better again.... ITS QUIET!!!! which is what i look for in a hotel. Small cinema beside the hotel and there is also a supermarket. Over all highly recomended this hotel for comfort, value and location.

Room Tip: I found the balcony room Lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Amyk85,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review on Trip advisor. Your review is much appreciated and the team and I are delighted with your positive comments.

I am delighted that our team made such a good impression. Excellent customer service is something we strive to excel here at The Maldron Hotel Smithfield, and I am delighted we achieved to make your stay an excellent and enjoyable one.

I agree that our location is certainly a special key factor. We are lucky to be a city centre property which is conveniently located for local attractions, shopping areas, and temple bar along with having the Luas on our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Maldron Smithfield is a gem of a hotel in the centre of Dublin, which I would highly recommend. The staff are friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and it is easy to get around town with the Luas tram stop only a few meters away. Don't forget to try the restaurant, the food is great. The hotel is a good business hotel with all of the conveniences.

Room Tip: The rooms on the square side are the best. Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Jennifer T

Thanks you very much to take the time to post your review on tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Service is something that we at The Maldron Hotel Smithfield prioritise and the Maldron Hotel team were so glad that you found the service so friendly and efficient.

In regards to the food we thank you for your positive feedback. Recently Damian our new Head Chef joined the team, and he has been working very hard to increase the quality, standards and variety of our menus.

I agree that our location is certainly a special key factor. Although a city centre property, the area is very peaceful, and noise is not issue for any of our guests.
We are lucky to be a city centre property which is conveniently located for local attractions, shopping areas, and temple bar along with having the Luas on our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for taking the time to write your positive comment.

Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Maldron Smithfield is a very good base for sight-seeing in Dublin, only 15 minutes walk from Temple Bar area or you can catch the Luas tram into the central area. The area around the hotel may not be so safe to walk around at night.

The rooms were large and comfortable and modern in style, with tea/coffee making facilities. Hotel overall could do with a bit of a spruce up.

We had breakfast and were pleased with the choice of cereals, fruit, porridge, bacon, egg etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful and overall I would recommend this hotel, if you dont mind being a little further out from the central area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Woolif,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location to be so convenient.
I agree that our location is a special key factor and a great advantage to us. Although we are a city centre property the area is very peaceful, while still being walking distance to many local attractions such as Jameson Distillery, Guinness Storehouse, Dublin zoo, shopping areas and Temple Bar. Also with the Luas on our doorstep it is extremely convenient for CCD, the O2 and Heuston station.
As we are in a very peaceful area of the city, it may seem quiet at night. But with the current regeneration programme being carried out by Dublin City Council in Smithfield we hope that the area will greatly improve. We are very fortunate to have a good relationship with the local policing unit and the area is continuously patrolled by the police who’s station is located 2 minutes from the hotel.
Cleanliness and customer service are the 2 areas that we strive to excel at here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and the entire team was delighted to read your comments, and that your stay was such a pleasurable one.
We are currently carrying refurbishments in many of the rooms in the hotel with new carpets and a new colour scheme being introduced in order to spruce up the hotel.
The entire team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Regards,
Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 5,803 - ₹ 20,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing