We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ashling House 168 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashling House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashling House
Ranked #128 of 164 Dublin B&B and Inns
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ashling House 168 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

If you are going to think about booking this B&B or its sister B&B Azalea Lodge across the road, travellers be warned that the parking situation could give rise to you experiencing a horrendous stay in Aisling House or Azalea Lodge.
Be advised that if you do not check that you are parked in a specific place that may not have been indicated to you, you may be subject to castigation.
If you do not take it upon yourself to investigate correct on-site parking for your vehicle, you may be subject to disapprobation.
If you assume that the parking area in the front courtyard of Aisling House is for your vehicle, as a client, you may be subject to vilification.
If you seek to voice a complaint about being disturbed by a person unknown to you when you and your family are in bed with lights out for the night, you may be subjected to rebuke.
If you were to state that you were not prepared to put your company to the expense of your accommodation after the highly unsatisfactory service you might have received, be sure that you might be immediately expelled and possibly slandered during an expulsion.
Travellers that feel the chill and damp, you could find the window in your room open and the room arctic, so you might telephone in advance of your arrival to ask that the windows be shut if it is cool out of doors.
Travellers that are asthmatic or suffer from any complaint affecting the sinuses, one might suggest to you that you might need to check that the carpet in your room is not dank and malodorous, lest you should find it difficult to sleep as a result.

Room Tip: Front room very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bríd H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pond9, Owner at Ashling House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
In our absence client parked her car in our neighbour’s private car park.

Our neighbour asked that it be moved at 10.30pm.

We explained to the client that the car had to be moved and offered to move it for her.

The next afternoon we eventually had to ask the client to leave our property.

We will leave the reader to draw their own conclusions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    49
    31
    28
    16
See reviews for
30
47
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our hosts, Bernadette and Padraig Sweeney, were friendly, gracious. and helpful. (They own Azalea House across the street, where we had a full Irish breakfast each morning.) They gave detailed advice about buses, cabs, and places to visit. Padraig drove us to Howth, a fishing village about a half an hour away. On the way, he talked about Dublin and answered our questions. He said he had to go there to pick ups mussels - but I suspect he could have done that some other time. On another day he drove us to the Botanical Gardens about 5 minutes away. Such friendly personal service was very special.
We stayed in a room with a private bath and double doors opening to a lovely garden in back.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonWaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Ashling House was a great place to stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful in giving suggestions about things to do in and around Dublin if you want ideas or need to look at maps. The city center is only a 10 minute bus ride and the B & B is in a quiet area. The room was the perfect size and it was nice to have our own bathroom. The breakfasts were great, plenty to choose from, and it was an easy "help yourself" set-up. Overall, it had a very comfortable feel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatSanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I agree with most of the other reviews. This B&B more than met my needs. Friendly and helpful hosts and staff, great location, spotlessly clean, good local bar and restaurants, free parking and wi-fi and the place has a good 'feel' about it.
I was lucky to get the big, twin room at the back with doors opening to the lovely back yard - would be great in the warmer weather.
The breakfast is adequate but nothing special, although guests can access the living room, drinks and fridge at any time.
Easy access by car to the Dublin-Holyhead ferry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I'm a 66 year old woman who prefers to travel solo. I've visited Dublin for years and stayed in numerous B&Bs so I've got a good idea of what makes sense for me. Several years ago I found Azalea Lodge and was very impressed with hosts Padraig & Bernadette, and their establishment. On my next trip I stayed in their sister B&B, Ashling House, which is just across Drumcondra Road from Azalea Lodge. Ashling is as comfortable and well run as Azalea, my room was at the back of the house so it was quiet and restful. Breakfasts at the Ashling are continental, but if guests chose to do so they are welcome to enjoy the full Irish breakfast served at the Azalea Lodge, where Bernadette bakes the scones, makes the jam, cooks up the best porridge ever and shares her passion for cooking with pleasure. The Ashling provides a large lounge and dining area where guests may sit to read, watch TV or enjoy a cup of tea.
Drumcondra is a major thoroughfare so busses are frequent and the stop is just steps from the B&B door. Getting into Dublin by bus is a breeze, and when it's time to go it's just as easy to bus it to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
ABC House
ABC House
#27 of 164 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 km away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
1.5 km away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 164 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
St. Judes
St. Judes
#70 of 164 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.7 km away
Aishling House
Aishling House
#72 of 164 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.4 km away
Paddy's House
Paddy's House
#88 of 164 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling House

Property: Ashling House
Address: 168 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,585 - ₹ 11,374
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashling House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashling House was built in the 1930s, can boast a wonderful location in the leafy suburb of Drumcondra and yet within a short distance of the city centre and Croke Park. Dublin Airport is 6 miles away and journey time is ten minutes by car or twenty minutes by bus (bus fare is €2.40, taxi about €15). At Ashling House Bed and Breakfast you have full use of our Landscaped Private Garden to the rear of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing