We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm proud of myself for not letting it get me down!”
Review of Citi Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citi Hostels
Ranked #90 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I spent 6 nights in a 4-woman room. Apparently all the other women live there full-time, and their stuff covered all available space in the tiny room, and included dirty dishes and food. The closet was packed with their stuff; the bathroom floor and toilet covered with their toiletries, laundry, and shoes. They were in the place throughout the day, sometimes with a boyfriend, glued to their laptops without even a response to a greeting! Needless to say, I spent only the briefest time possible in that room.

One morning I was chatted up by an inquisitive drunk Romanian guy staying there. After I finally got rid of him, the receptionist, who was standing outside the front door smoking with another guy as I left, apologized to me for "our friend." If the receptionist felt the need to apologise, then he should have been more proactive about getting the guy out of there, and into his own room or something, and not just allow him bother other guests.

On th plus side - free wifi with one (of two) working computers in a little hole of a closet, which was good for me, as I hadn't brought my laptop. And, it IS cheap.

Room Tip: do not share unless you are very tolerant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandacadillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

our stay at Citi hostel was nothing, not good, ot bad not. the bes where old and shoul really be replaced, room are not that spacious staff is doesn't appaer to like there jobs very much. check-in is a hassel as we were with 2 and they wanted us in seperate rooms. after some discussion it was no problem to be in the same room...???!!! strange!!!
it is a 20 min walk to the city centre. no propper information was given by the staff but in the end what would you expect is you pay 10 euro a night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zjuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

On arrival to the hostel it seemed nice, we thought wrong, once we got to reception we had to wait at least 40 minutes for someone to see to us, they saw us waiting to be assited and they didnt even make the effort to see were we alright. once the receptionist acknowledged us , she was very rude and ignorant , we left our stuff in the room (which was scorching hot )and went down town, we thought the area was good but beside the hostel a man exposed himself to us. on arriving back to our room it was about 2am it was late because we had been at a concert, there was a strange woman lurking in the corridor, she looked drugged and extremly drunk . she followed us up to our room . we locked the door but she persitied on trying to force the door open. she was not a guest at the hostel but had jus wandered in. eventually she managed to break the handle and lock of the door, leaving us trapped inside , while all this was happening we were ringing the hostel reception , we knew there was someone there because we passed them when we walked in. it was obvious they didnt care about their guests, we rang at least 20 times and stil no answer. at this stage we wore locked into the room which was at absoltuly boiling with no way to turn off the heating and a tiny window and now way to leave the room. the next morning we contiued to ring the reception. we called out for help a woman passing stopped, we asked her to inform reception ,a few minutes later she came to the door and said we would have to wait at least another hour .. eventually after a long wait the maintenance came they had to break the door open although it was not our fault they tried to put the cost of the broken door on us . to add insult to injury rather than apologising they said we were too late for breakfast that was already paid for. overall this was an horrific expieirience an outside of the health and safety issues which were absolutley huge the attitude of the staff was shocking. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank midgemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

do not leave valuble things in the room as it will be STOLEN!! my iphone was takin and my friends phone also... i know this for a fact and cant do anything about it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Good location. Good kitchen to cook meals. wifi works well

Room we stayed in was a double and the bed was in horrific condition. The mattress was completely shot. The base of the bed was totally spent. It was leaning over.


Bathroom was ok. Showers were pretty rubbish push button type.

Breakfast was good. They can wash and dry your clothes for about €7

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlux95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Avalon House
#29 of 127 in Dublin
860 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 127 in Dublin
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Abrahams Hostel
#20 of 127 in Dublin
586 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#14 of 127 in Dublin
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citi Hostels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citi Hostels

Address: 2 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 776 - ₹ 3,725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citi Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citi Hostels is located in the highly fashionable " village quarter" in the heart of Dublin city and only 10 minutes walk from Grafton Street - the shopping centre of Dublin and 15 minutes from Temple Bar -Ireland's Culture Capital with its lively pubs, restaurants and festivals!We are also located at the edge of old Georgian Dublin, which boasts the finest example of Georgian architecture anywhere in Europe. Our reception is open 24 hours as is our fully fitted kitchen!Don't want to cook? No problem -breakfast is included in the price Stay in our en suite dorms from €10 per night or book a private twin/double room from €16 per person per night Nowhere else will you get such competitive rates for such high standards!-All our rooms are en suite, except the Double Rooms shared bathroom.-Free use of Hostel Computers & free WIFI-We have Double, Twin, and Double/Single private en suites as well as dorms-Did we mention the free breakfast?! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citi Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing