We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Unsafe area of Dublin!”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware! Unsafe area of Dublin!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel is located in NORTH Dublin, somehow a fake map locator shows them in South Dublin. The location is in a very bad run down, crime zone. You are a hostage to double fare taxi's which have agreement with hotel, or the hop-on bus which has no return service to speak of. The hallway carpets are filthy and smelly, the room was comfortable and clean. Staff is not friendly and resturant service was slow, over-priced, mediocre and with never a smile.
Find a nice place South of Dublin where you can walk and enjoy the city, unless your company or sugar daddy is picking up the tab.
If you are a hostage at Croke Park, go out the door, turn right and at the top of the hill, past the car repair place is a fabulous Italian resturant, Wallace's, open lunch and dinner.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,085
    1,121
    201
    29
    20
See reviews for
986
1,849
166
522
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We flew to Dublin yesterday morning (14/9/12) to the concert at IMMA Royal Kimainham Hospital. Wow what a night! We arrived early from the airport and were told our room would not be ready till 2pm. (This was at 9.15am). We went to the dining room to purchase a breakfst and gather our thoughts together as to what we could do until our room was ready. Lo and behold! a lovely young man came to our table with keys to our room. (9.40) What joy! Our room was lovely and very well equipped. The beds were lovely and wide and so comfortable, the room was spacious, quiet and there were complimentery beverages. On our return from the wonderful Leonard Cohen concert, the receptionist at the desk booked our taxi for the morning, booked our early morning call and arranged our 'breakfast to go' as we had to leave the hotel before the dining room opened for breakfast. I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YVONNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Croke Park Hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay. Our group had three rooms, all were different sizes and configurations. Ours it seemed was a larger than standard room with a double bed and a single bed, which for Americans is a little odd. The nicely outfitted, modern room and bathroom were good size, very clean and comfortable. The view from our room wasn't impressive but that is our only negative. Our room included breakfast was of a good variety consisting of a buffet, either a full buffet or a continental buffet. If not included in your room, I believe the cost is either 9.95 Euro for the continental or 14.95 Euro for the full buffet. One curiosity: we were given milk for our coffee in the morning, when we asked for cream we were told that the Irish call milk - cream. When we asked what the Irish call cream, the waiter said they called it actual cream. So if you want cream for your coffee or tea, ask for actual cream! The food at the restaurant was good and room service was good also. We ate lunch at cozy chairs in front of a fireplace with a big screen TV on it. The location is not near the main tourist center but they do have a shuttle that picks you up in the front of the hotel to take you to the "hop on, hop off" bus. I recommend this highly if you want to take in the sights of Dublin, cost is 16 Euros per person, well worth it. We did not bring our own adapters for our phone chargers to the hotel so we had to borrow them from the hotel. Our friends borrowed one that wasn't correct, that they used for a flat iron which promptly blew the fuse and shorted out one of their other appliances. Perhaps you should purchase these prior to coming to Ireland, they are not expensive. Overall this hotel is very nice and we would recommend this if you are not overly concerned about location into the main tourist area. The concierge is very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Staying here whilst a relative was in a nearby hospital I found everything very comfortable, for what was a stressful time. The room was excellent, with a very large comfortable bed, a sitting area, TV, desk and mini bar. There were the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was lovely and roomy and everything was very clean. There was a large underground car park. Free computers were to be found in the reception area and breakfast was good. Reception staff were always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stopped off for a drink or 2 before the MAYO -V- DUBLIN semi-final
Excellent service, very fast, not overpriced for drink and plenty of space to sit and watch TV if you like. The place very clean.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liambettystown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
2.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,039 reviews
2.8 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.5 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
2.2 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,977 - ₹ 18,798
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing