We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked at Croke Park Hotel,DubLin”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Anderson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overbooked at Croke Park Hotel,DubLin”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were booked thru scepter tours at the Croke Park in Dublin for the last night in Ireland. I called ahead and found out there was underground parking available,so we parked and came up the lift to check in about 5:30.We were told there was a glitch. They had overbooked. How does that happen????? And they were moving us to the Gresham on Oconnell st. We left our car there took a cab to the other hotel checked in...found out they had parking as well...not told that. The room was ok. A queen bed for 2 women. Tight. Had to get up much earlier next morning to take cab back to Croke Park,get reimbursed for cab fare,get parking stamped and no time for breakfast because of all the hustle. No reimbursement for that! Too much hassle to stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Call ahead make sure you still have a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NastyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,079
    1,118
    201
    29
    20
See reviews for
985
1,843
166
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My mum and dad have just returned from a long weekend at the Croke Park Hotel (myself and my brothers sent for dads 70th and their 50th wedding anniversay ). They cannot praise this hotel enough. I had emailed hotel before they went to tell them about their celebrations.
1st they upgraded them to the executive suite, 2nd they put banners and balloons up for their arrival, 3rd 2 mini bottles of bubbly were there complementary for them and 4rth the staff were all so very friendly, curtious and helpfull to them. My mum and dad were bed and breakfast and they stated that the breakfast was delicious there was a vast variety of food for them to choose from both hot and cold foods available. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. they cannot fault anything about their stay here and would definately stay again if returning to Dublin.
I would like to thank ALL the hotel staff for making thier celebrations memorable and their stay comfortable for them, and will definately reccomend this hotel to anyone I know that will be going to Dublin. Once again thank you so much x

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsD(Airdrie)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a really decent place. The rooms were clean, everthing functioned well and the staff was helpful and pleasant. I was on the executive floor, so had access to WiFi and a lounge. On lower floors, you only get wired internet. The hotel is a bit far from the city center, but the bus stop is close by. You can get to the Temple Bar/Trinity College/St. Stephen's Green areas in about 15 minutes for around 2 euros via the city bus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnTinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed there over a weekend. Never again..We had no internet so we had to call down to get cables sent up to our room to get it. Ate in the restaurant which was nice, watching the rugby on the big screen. As for the night sleep, was woke up constantly from 1am-5am by people/drunks. Actually could hear 1 guy stumbling & falling about in his room, next door to us then his snoring. Walls way to thin. Never will stay there again unless I'm out on a drinking weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaelic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Upon entering this hotel, the first thing I noticed was how clean it was. My room was immaculate. I saw the staff scrubbing rugs that didn't even look dirty. They also have face cloths, which I soon learned is not the norm for European hotels. The food was very good as well as having an excellent value for the money. The staff was very friendly and helpful taking the time to answer all my questions and offer advice on activities I had planned. A nice walk on a nice day off the beaten path but there is a shuttle right outside the door to take you to the first stop on the hop on hop off tour of Dublin. I have already recommended this hotel to friends who are visiting Dublin this summer. The cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff will make this hotel my temporary home the next time I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,808 reviews
2.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
2.8 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.5 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
2.2 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,370 - ₹ 19,006
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing