We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel, top class staff..”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
co galway, ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top class hotel, top class staff..”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

stayed here with a friend at the weekend. we were after a relaxing, stress free time, theatre and a little sight seeing, which is exactly what we got. the rooms were spotless and beds very comfortable.
every member of the hotel staff can be commended on their professionalism and courteous manner. they were friendly and genuine and made us feel more than welcome.
breakfast was very nice and dinner was excellent.
we were very happy with the location, in fact it was a lovely 10/15 minute walk to o' connell street. we normally stay in a more central hotel for the night life, but for the price of a short taxi drive I'll be staying here in future.
highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishtravellerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,052
    1,105
    201
    28
    20
See reviews for
979
1,824
164
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Location: Croke Park Hotel is located between Dublin airport and the city centre, 5 minutes walk from the Drumcondra bus stop on the 16A bus line, which is a direct local bus line between O'Connell street (the city centre) and Dublin Airport. A taxi ride to the airport on a heavy traffic day was €22. The hotel is served by a shuttle bus that takes you directly to the start of the Dublin Bus sightseeing tour, which is a great way not only to get to the major attractions, but also for getting around in the city, before you get to know the regular bus network. I would recommend you get multi-day tickets for both the Dublin Bus Tour and for the regular Dublin Bus. The hotel itself is in a quiet street with close to no noise.

Service: The staff was friendly, always helpful, flexible, present but never intrusive. Perfect.

Quality: We booked a Standard Family Room. What we got was not the usual double room with a couple of child beds tucked into a limited space, but a spacious room with two full-size double beds, a desk, three bedside tables and another table+chair, tv set, radio/cd-player, plenty of clothes space, ironing board, hair drier, mini-bar. Plus a spacious bathroom with large shower cabin and a separate bath tub. All clean and neatly decorated.

Because we had pre-paid the room, no credit card was required for check-in. So by default pay-services and mini-bar was inaccessible, which is kind of nice when you have kids in the room and don't want to tempt them with a rich mini-bar.

The public areas were separated in such a way that we actually felt like hanging out in the lobby, tv room or restaurant for a while. Breakfast was very nice, and the few dishes we tried for dinner were also great. I can recommend the beef guinness.

This is one of the cheapest hotels I have stayed in, so I was surprised to discover that it was also the best.

Also, I could not have enough of Dublin and the Irish, and I am even planning to celebrate St. Patrick's Day this year...

Negative: That I can't go back to Croke Park Hotel until next year, I have no more holiday left...

Room Tip: Check Otel.com, they offered us a much better price than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lightborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
On behalf of the entire team here at The Croke Park Hotel, I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your most kind and detailed review regarding your recent experience with us. All of my team and I were greatly humbled by your kind words. As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of “word-of-mouth” from our loyal, regular customers.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here with my partner in January. All the staff were polite, friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was immaculately clean with lots of attention to detail. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast. Very comfortable bed and a lovely quiet night's sleep.
Location is only a 10-15 minute walk to O'Connell Street, so an ideal location for sight seeing.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tentpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

On first impression as you enter the hotel it is modern, friendly and 4 star rating and this continues throughout the hotel. I could not fault this hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious, clean with excellent facilities in the room, incl cd player, mini bar, iron, toiletries, air conditioning, seperate shower, tea making, hairdryer. The rooms are sound proofed and the hotel is in a quiet location (well no games were on at Croke Park when we stopped). We spent 2 nights here and the atmosphere is so lovely in the hotel that we came back early to enjoy our evenings of beer and cocktails (and prices are reasonable, with weekend cocktails only 7euros). There is a large tv screen, cosy sofas and a welcoming modern flame fire.

Breakfast was well presented and plenty of choice and the service was excellent, there must be 1 member of staff to every table, clearing away, constantly topping tea pots and milk pots and refilling toast up when we ran low.

The only downside to this hotel is the location, it isn't in a very nice part of Dublin and first impression was not too good when we walked to the main streets, which are a good 20 minute walk and Temple Row 30 mins away. Taxis are quite expensive, around 10 euros but you might want to consider this as we did not feel very safe walking back at night!

Trip was booked through Travel Republic......bargain for £198 for 2 including flights and 2 nights accommodation and breakfast

Overall - first class hotel, poor location

Room Tip: Rooms on the left overlook the water/train line - only heard a couple of trains and were really quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for choosing The Croke Park Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of word-of-mouth from satisfied customers. Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I can thus personally assure you that the feedback you have provided us will definitely assist my team in becoming better at what we do

I am also happy to say that there is now also a bus route ( The number #7 bus ) that stops about three minutes from the hotel. This service runs every 10-15 minutes and serves most of the major city centre areas. We hopefully look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in february as a birthday celebration. Everything in the hotel was perfect.

We flew to Dublin and was very easy to get to the hotel (take local buses, cheaper and no need to go to the city center to get to the hotel). We asked for a early check in cause we had to start the journey early in the morning and also as a nice gesture to my partner. When we arrived we got it as we asked. Was very nice touch and we also had a banner saying "Happy Birthday" and some balloons. This are the things that make the hotel special.

We never had dinner or lunch in the restaurant so cannot say anything about it. About the room, everything was perfect. Due to previous jobs I have to say that I always check every single detail, and to be honest, couldn't find anything to complain. The tissue box was set up as a rose which was very nice. I always wondered how long would it take them to make it so perfect.

The reception staff was always smiley and willing to help. We had a little issue upon arrival with our minibar not been replaced from previous guests and they dealed with it in a very professional way. I thing that is what it matters at the end.

The only bad thing I could say is that it is not very close to the city center as I read before arriving to the hotel. Yes, you get to the city center in 10 min, but to the shopping part, not the touristy part. But the service you get mades up for the walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosePLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
I cannot thank you enough for your detailed review. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was in perfect order. It means a great deal to me and the team to read such good reviews.

Please feel free and visit your home away from home at any time!

It would be a pleasure to personally look after any further bookings.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
2.8 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
2.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.3 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,266 - ₹ 18,100
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing