We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for the craic”
Review of O'Sheas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Sheas Hotel
Ranked #85 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Myself , my girlfriend and two others were up in Dublin for the weekend for an Elvis night (that got cancelled but that's another story) we decided we may as well stay anyway and we were totally glad we did.
There's live music in the bar every night which was great, met loads of Americans who we spent the next night with too. It's in Dublin centre so when the bar closed it was easy to get to Temple Bar and a good nightclub.
The foood was great and the staff were lovely.
Our room was noisy alright but I sleep through anything so no problems there.

Overall I'd recommend this for anyone wanting to stay in the city centre, who wants to be able to have a few drinks in the bar and go out. Good times.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

I absolutely hated my stay.
I stayed six days and dreaded every one of them.
The cheap price is not worth the horror.
It was filthy dirty and elevator broke and filthy dirty
disgusting stain on carpet in room
I hated it
Do not stay there
pay more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60763Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

It sounded and looked great, and we were excited about the value - 168 Euros for two nights - but it was definitely not as advertised. The furniture and bedding were old, but we could deal with that, en suite was a tiny joke. No problem there, either, for two nights. This was the problem: the lift advertised as making our 3rd floor room accessible was out of order, had been for a while, and there was no plan to repair it. Ditto the direct dial phone, the laundry service and assistance in hauling our suitcases up and down three flights of stairs. Did I mention we're 70 years old? The staff was polite until the morning we checked out. We literally had to bed the very rude young man at the desk to help us with our luggage. He was the only real jerk we met in Dublin!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 November 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review of Our Hotel which helps us to provide a better service to Guests. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel and am happy to address the issues mentioned.

Some of Our Rooms are smaller then other's and en-suites vary in size from Small To Large some with Bath & Shower and some with just shower, The room you were allocated was with a small en-suite , We would advise guests to request if they would like a Larger bathroom and were possible we would facilitate this.

With regard to the Lift Service , As we are a Old Building we have experienced some faults with the Lift and this has led to it breaking down at different times, We are currently working on rectifying the problem with the lift and hope to have it fully functional on a permanent basis soon.

In relation to the Laundry service we have withdrawn offering a Suit/Dress/Shirt laundry service as we found that It worked out better value for the Guest to seek this service at one of the many dry cleaners there is near by.

I am dissapointed to hear that you found a member of staff unhelpfull and can ensure you that this has been addressed.
Once again I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Hotel and would ask that on your return to Ireland you contact me directly and allow me to Offer you the service and experience that we aim to deliver.

Kind Regards,
Sean Gough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed at this property for 2 nights and were glad to get out of there. Rooms are not the same as what is shown on the website.
They seem to have a hot water issue as there is none in the mornings. When we advised Reception they said they were working on it, but then it happened again the next morning. Also when the hot water is on, the pipes make a terribly loud noise.
There is a lot of noise from the street. Thick block out blinds should be used to reduce this rather than the flimsy curtains they currently have in the rooms, not don't block out light or noise.
One good thing about this hotel is the car parking, even though it was a little walk from the hotel. Also it is a very good location, quite easy to walk to most attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and we could not fault the customer service. Every member of staff we spoke to were fabulous. They couldnt help us enough. We even awoke late on the day of departure, too late for breakfast but were still given a full irish. The reception staff were extremely helpful and we just cannot fault anything at all. Oh and the food in the restaurant is gorgeous. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmino9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maple Hotel
#135 of 152 in Dublin
541 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#105 of 152 in Dublin
1,170 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#91 of 152 in Dublin
1,584 reviews
Gate Hotel
#121 of 152 in Dublin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Sheas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Street | Mountjoy, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 5,421 - ₹ 18,336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Sheas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your O'Sheas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing