We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly ”
Review of Adelphi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adelphi Guesthouse
Ranked #87 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My family and i stayed here for a week, we found the staff so friendly and accommodating!! Only down points were there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room or hair dryer. Room was compact but did its job in accommodating my family it was also immaculately clean and u could smell the cleanliness of the bathroom when we stepped in. KUDOS to the cleaning staff!! Breakfast was pleasant as staff are very helpful and attentive.

Only other discrepancy we had was that since i mentioned ealier there was no tea and coffee making facilities in room, we could use a coffee/tea making machine down in reception, my husband went down to make tea for himself at about 10pm and the night porter was very rude, clicked fingers at him to get attention and shouted (in front of other guests) "ay ayyy ayy you!" My husband was embarrassed as he thought he did something wrong. The night porter then interigated him as to what room he stayed in and said he not ment to be here and that he isnt in the book, my husband explained it was under my name!! It was highly embarrassing as it was done in front of other guests. It was a bit sly of the night porters as they are of indian origin... and so am i? And my husband is white and our son is mixed. He has seen us walk in the guesthouse a few times in the evening even dealing with my husband 3 times the previous evening.

Overall the guesthouse is a pleasant place and the lady at reception is most friendly.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Clean & very nice guesthouse Close to downtown Dublin Close to bus station and airport shuttle bus. Friendly, helpful staff. Someone on duty 24 hours. Yes, there are a lot of stairs to the top floor & bathrooms are small, but it's Europe where the buildings in the city are old and charming. it's what we've had in London & elsewhere in Europe. We found the beds comfortable and the room light and airy. We'd definitely stay here again. Obviously a good hotel for families as we had a family room for 3 and there were at least 4 strollers in the downstairs lobby.

Room Tip: book early as the guesthouse was always full. had top floor street side room but couldn't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Due to a misunderstanding the room was booked a day early, unfortunately the inflexible management of this situation mean't we had to pay double the price, and no compromise was to be made by the manager. Needless to say we booked into a different hotel and will continuing to find alternatives during following visits.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Staff are super friendly but the rooms are saunas. We were here during a heat wave but the staff got us fans so that was nice. Location is good. The decor is good but it is too hot to stay in the summer, even with the fans. We were on the top floor and we couldn't get our suitcases up without a lot of help. Our senior Grandma had trouble with the stairs and they couldn't accommodate us on lower levels of the house so that was a little annoying but at the same time understandable.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the guesthouse, location was good and it was a very unique house. The place was clean but bathrooms are very small. We stayed on the top floor where you had to take about 6 or 7 flights of stairs, so I would not recommend the higher levels if you don't like stairs. It seems that there are long term people living in this guest house which have no consideration for guests so the noise level can be a little frustrating. Breakfast is included which is great the traditional Irish breakfast is a must to have.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Botanic View B & B
#1 of 151 in Dublin
785 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 151 in Dublin
683 reviews
Egans House
#26 of 151 in Dublin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guesthouse

Address: 68 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Adelphi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing