We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food as always”
Review of Lumanti of Nepal

Lumanti of Nepal
Ranked #519 of 2,724 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Nepalese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At our authentic restaurant we aim to provide a realistic Nepalese fine dining experience.Eat on site or at home with fresh scented aromas of Nepalese spices and tastes that match to none. Only the healthiest and freshest ingredients are selected by our chefs to craft our dishes.With a full and friendly Nepalese staff of waiters and chefs we are ready to introduce you to a true representation of Nepalese cuisine.
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Enjoyed another delicious meal at Lumanti last night. Momos were excellent as was everything else. The gingery chat pat is super with lovely warm spices. Enjoyed the chicken choila with lots of fenugreek so much that I ordered 2 extra portions as takeaway and had another tasty meal this evening....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sany D, Public Relations Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Namaste Ali R,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Hands down the Momo dumplings and Cholia are arguably the best dishes coming from Nepali cuisine. We thank you for your continued support, with 3 portions of choila we can pretty much call you an honorary Nepali. Haha. Come join us soon, we'll have the choila on standby.

Kind Regards,
Lumanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Going to Lumanti is brilliant: it's an understated restaurant where food really matters. The staff are lovely, polite, attentive but what really stands out is that the each dish tastes individually different. That's so unlike many Nepalese/Indian restaurants, where pre-cooked meats/vegetables are added to packaged sauces, making it hard to distinguish the difference between dishes. My absolute favourite is an aubergine dish (Bhyanta Tarkari) that is prepared from scratch and where you can taste the tomatoes, peppers, onions as well as the aubergine. There are many more: the pork and chicken Tareko have a smokey, delicious flavour and the addition of soy sauce makes them really distinctive. The food here is consistently good and I would highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sany D, Public Relations Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Namaste Kathleen D,

Thank you for a lovely review. We take great pride in our freshly made food, how we make it and its presentation. We are so happy it was delightful visit.The Bhyanta Tarkari is one of our favourite dishes and there will be plenty available for you anytime. Please do come visit again, we will look forward to it!

Kind Regards
Lumanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is consistently good. All food is freshly prepared, and the tandoor is charcoal fired, rather than gas.
An undiscovered gem - don't miss it.

Thank jk1961dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sany D, Public Relations Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Namaste jk1961dub,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! And the staff absolutely agree that a small venture outside the inner city is well worth it to find this tasty gem. As always, you are most welcome at Lumanti, Hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Lumanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We have been here on numerous occasions and enjoyed. Last night however was very disappointing. Mixed platter starter was fine, not much you can do wrong. My pork dish was fine also but my husband's chicken dish was not nice, sauce tasteless and chicken very dry and chewy. We ordered two large glasses of white wine, albeit without looking at wine list. It was €19 for the two glasses! Even The Shelbourne doesn't charge €9.50 for a glass of wine, never mind a mediocre restaurant in suburbia! Overall the experience was not good and we won't be back.

1  Thank FIONAW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sany D, Public Relations Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Namaste FIONAW32,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear your recent visit was below par. We apologise that your husband didn't enjoy his dish - unfortunately our main curry Chef was away during this time and this has obviously taken away from your usual dining experience with us. While we acknowledge that this is inexcusable, we did remove this dish from your bill as an act of good faith.

With respect to the wine, there is a wide range of choice for by-the-glass on our extensive wine list. The Pinot Grigio was indeed €9.50 large, there is also a small glass available for €7.50 or other glasses starting at €6.00 that may suit your budget. We also have some special offers available on wine, which you can ask your waiter.

We will be sad if you choose not to return but we appreciate your review, which highlights important points and we will improve on these points. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Lumanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I was less impressed with the options available than the rest of our group. the mixed starter was an easy option to begin with - I thought it was just Ok but the others raved about it. Selection of mine courses is adequate, and I ordered an option that I was not impressed with - too many lentils and chick peas for my liking - and that coloured ny impression. Again the others were very positive with their selections.

We were seated upstairs and as a result service suffered.

I would go back but would be selecting different dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sany D, Public Relations Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Namaste SaintRP9,

I'm glad your overall group was happy with your meal. I see your taste and opinion was slightly different from theirs but none the less, always bring it to the attention of the waiters. My guess was you were having a Dhal/Chana or prehaps a Dhansak. The chefs will be happy to alter the dish to suit you as best as possible. We apologies if our service was not at standard but will work hard to improve this. Please do ask the waiters about the different dishes on your next visit. They are happy to help you choose a dish your which is to your taste.

Kind Regards,
Lumanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumanti of Nepal also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Lumanti of Nepal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing