We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Marian Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marian Guest House
Ranked #49 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Brussels
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here in a very large group for the St Patrick's day weekend and it was just great. Catherine greeted us - such a kind lady who was a lot of fun! She also gave us tips for what to do in and around Dublin and helped us out - I was impressed by the ease with which she handled our large group. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable, the beds were great. The shared showers are exactly what you wish for - clean and warm. The area is quiet but very close to the centre. Breakfast was a lovely personal touch, brought to the rooms by Catherine (toast, cornflakes, choice of coffee/tea), and delicious.
I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Dublin, it's incredible value and I can imagine any type of traveller feeling comfortable and happy here. Thank you so much, Catherine!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    89
    45
    14
    14
See reviews for
15
119
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontblyddyn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a fab little place clean and tidy with a proper landlady Catherine could not do enough to help,we went over to watch the rugby and this was an ideal location breakfast served on time in the room if required or you could eat in dinning room 8 of us stayed and we could not of asked for better,I left my shirts in the wardrobe after one phone call shirts arrived back by post. Looking forward to visiting again in two years time when we play in Dublin again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The owner of the guesthouse, catherine was very friendly and helpful from the moment we booked to stay there. The useful info of how to get to the guesthouse on public transport was very useful and saved us a few euros too! The Guesthouse was clean and bright and tidy. Our room (no.2) was clean but quite tired and the decor is quite quirky, a little fussy for our personal tastes but of a decent size with plenty of storage to tidy our things away into. The shower room was very tiny, and only just about usable without being too difficult. Having said this, it's saving grace was the brilliant shower with good hot water and a powerful stream. The breakfast room was clean and bright. Catherine was so accommodating and helpful, providing us with extra pillows and checking all was ok. The rooms are not cleaned routinely but catherine asks if you want anything doing to the room each day, this might be a little awkward for some people. The breakfast service was great and efficient, breakfast was good. The room was at the front of the property and the road is quite busy, may be disrupting if you are not used to road noise. the location was a 15min walk or so to the centre of the city and a good base from which to explore.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My Mother-in law was in hospital at the Mater and we booked in to stay at the Marian based on the good reviews and also how close it is to the hospital.(only a 5 minute easy walk)
We were able to park our car in a space off the road just outside the Marian. Our room was very comfortable and quiet and we both slept very well. There is a kettle, microwave and fridge for your use in a small kitchen with tea, coffee and real milk. The shower in the room was lovely. The breakfast was very tasty. We were not sure if we would need a 2nd night and we were able to leave our car in the car space until we were sure. Luckily my mother-in-law was able to come home, but it is good to know that we could have enjoyed a 2nd night. The Marian Guest house may only have 1 star but you get 5 star service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pclarke234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Me and my partner have just returned from a 3 day and 2 night stay with Catherine and Brendan at the Marian and I can 100% say that I would stay there again anytime I visit Dublin!

You are not just GUEST'S you are individuals and Catherine and Brendan will treat you as such! No generic hello and goodbyes real one to one treatment spoken to by name and Catherine will go out of her way to advise you and listen to your days activities with genuine interest, even though she has probably heard it all before a million times.

Rooms are lovely and clean, warm and welcoming! Catherine EVEN fulfilled a request of having roses and champagne in our room on arrival as I wanted it for my partner as it was her birthday.

In summary forget the overpriced generic places and go for the personal touch with the Marian! when we visit again and we will 100% staying with catherine and Brendan again!!

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Shantalla Lodge B&B
#17 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Andorra B&B
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
North City Centre
Eccles Townhouse
Eccles Townhouse
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marian Guest House

Property: Marian Guest House
Address: 21 Upper Gardiner St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,309 - ₹ 8,630
Hotel Class:1 star — Marian Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marian Guest House - Dublin, Ireland is owned and run by the McElroy family. It is just off Mountjoy Square and 400 metres from Dublin city centre and all principal shopping areas, cinemas, theatres, museums. Well appointed bedrooms most of which are en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities available and use of private car park. We are situated in Dublin City Centre. We Have been Catering for Guests the last 20 years, & Renowned Worldwide, as you can see from the Testimonial Page. Marian Guest House is only 10 minutes walk from the main street of Dublin, O'Connell Street. Only 5 minute walk to Croke Park, and bus/car journey of 25 minutes to Dublin Airport. The Bus stops outside our door to various parts of Dublin City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marian Guest House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing