We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hope to visit Annagh House again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annagh House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annagh House
Ranked #105 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hope to visit Annagh House again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Our family stayed at Annagh House in early April, 2011. John and Delia greeted us as we arrived at their beautiful home and made us feel very welcome.
Their home is beautifully decorated (Victorian)...the bedrooms are lovely and very comfortable. Full Irish breakfast, delicious. Having previously stayed in city centre, Clontarf was a revelation. Annagh House faces the seaside and you can take a good walk along it.
Upon John's recommendation, we drove a short distance to Howth, going up to the summit, great views of the lighthouse. Lovely lunch at The Abbey Tavern. A short ride down the road from Annagh House is The Yacht club, great atmosphere and the food was delicious. I can't emphasize enough how helpful and gracious the Devlins are. I hope this was just my first visit to Annagh House!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gallfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

My mom and I traveled around Ireland bookending the front and back stays at Annagh House. This was a great decision on our part to be out of the main tourist area of Dublin while allowing for easy access to downtown and Howth. We ate seafood in Howth and enjoyed the scenic drive. Dublin was easy to get around.
John and Delia were perfect hosts. John even got up early to give us a light breakfast on our flight morning back to the US.
Great location, friendly and clean, what else can you ask for!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_and_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Annagh House is situated halfway from Dublin city to the beautiful island Howth. Right across the street is the shore of the mouth of the Liffey and there is even a large sandy beach only a few minutes walk away. Only several minutes by bus or train either to city center or to Howth. But no direct bus connection to the airport - we paid about 25 € for the taxi.

John is very friendly and helpful.

The room was simple, but ok. Unfortunately we had the only room that is right under the roof and since I am very tall, I had to take care not to hit the ceiling.

The breakfast was good. We had continental with cereals, selection of cheese, yoghurt and fruit.

Annagh House is good value for money and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

This has to be the nicest and most friendly guest house ever! We arrived in an early morning and although being so early were offered breakfast and a friendy smile. Nothing was a problem, the giving of stamps, the use of the internet, more towels, fantastic plentiful breakfast, always welcoming. Delia and John are wonderful warm and friendly hosts who truly seem to enjoy people staying in their wonderful Victorian mansion overlooking the sea at Clontarf. The house itself is picture perfect with not a scratch or dust on any surface, beautiful rooms, lovely ambiance. This is by far the best place we have ever stayed and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieshiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

From the moment we walked in the door we felt right at home. The accommodation was really nice, very clean and the breakfast was amazing! Home made fry-up with all the trimmings :) The host, John, was extremely helpful without being too over-zealous and really made our stay comfortable as well as being very knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely be staying there again if we go back to Dublin. 10/10.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durnsfordrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
West County Hotel
#80 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Rathfarnham
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Abrae Court Guesthouse
#101 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Kilmainham
BEST WESTERN Sheldon Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#127 of 149 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annagh House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annagh House

Property: Annagh House
Address: Annagh House 301 Clontarf Road, Dublin 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#52 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,503 - ₹ 7,771
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Annagh Hotel Clontarf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing