We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Ranked #10 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Avoid this place. The windows don't have double glazing so it sounds like the trucks are driving through your room all night. The brothers are surly and seem to hate their customers. All together a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkcartoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry N, Manager at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
I am very sorry your stay with us was not to your satisfaction, however I must point out that our windows do have double glazing however we are a heritage listed building which prevents us from changing our up/down wooden sash windows with the more modern plastic ones. We could however have moved this reviewer to a quieter room away from the traffic, if asked. I do not remember this reviewer because he/she did not bring his/her gripes to my attention but I do know that his/her personal comments about our family are at odds with the opinion of the vast majority of the guests who have enjoyed their stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    167
    54
    26
    19
See reviews for
78
154
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our first time staying at a pub B&B. It was an interesting experience as you get your own keys to go in and out, but there was virtually no one around to ask for help unless you call. We struggled to get our heavy luggage up as there was no lift, and also had trouble with intermittent internet access as we stayed at the top floor (which was really cold even though it was September).

Some review mentioned excellent breakfast but our room rate did not come with breakfast, hence no comments on this. I felt that the rooms were succint for the price we paid but we would like to try other B&Bs in Dublin when we go back next.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We loved staying above a pub! The proximity to be able to walk everywhere in Dublin was great. Our room was very spacious and clean and we were given free internet access. Breakfast was reasonable. The food in the pub was also good. It was a noisy place to stay with the elevated train running early in the morning and it being above a city street - perhaps try and request a room that is not on the street side but being on the first floor was good for us with only one flight of stairs to cart luggage. Helpful service at check in.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I'd love to be able to tell you about the nice room, good breakfast and excellent atmosphere but unfortunately I won't be able to because despite booking in plenty of time, I won't be staying there. I booked my room and was looking forward to my trip until I got an e-mail a couple of days later effectively cancelling my booking. Apparently, they only accept two night bookings on weekends. Fine, no problem, except it isn't mentioned anywhere on the website. None of the booking websites mention it and all of them will allow you to book a single night. A cynical person would suspect that maybe someone noticed that it was a rugby weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshrugbyfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review, in line with a lot of Dublin's hotels we do have a two night minimum stay on a few of the busier weekends, We offered very competitive rates for that rugby weekend but only for guests who were prepared to stay a minimum of two nights. From my recollection the reviewer had initially booked two nights but later sought to cancel one of them which were contrary to our booking conditions. When this was pointed out to them they stated that they did not wish to stay 2 nights, so they had to cancel . We are sorry that the reviewer did not see our point of view on this and hope they might return and sample our hospitality in the future. We are still somehow perplexed as to how this reviewer can rate our facilities without first staying here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed at O'Neills for 10 nights in September 2010 and it will be my first choice when I go back to Dublin. Yes, the rooms face a busy city street. If that is a problem for you, I suggest ear plugs. Checking in was a little confusing since the bar is not always open and there is no reception. (Fortunately, some men were painting the outside of the pub and they were able to call the manager and he came right away. If you travel with a cell phone [unlike me], you shouldn't have an issue.) Why is O'Neill's so great? The price of 40 euro per night (including breakfast) can't be beat. Even if it is more now, it's still worth it. And the location is perfect. You are just behind the Trinity campus and a short walk away to everything in central Dublin. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and charming. And there is a really tasty, full breakfast served by lovely, friendly international students. Budget travellers--or even middle of the road comfort travellers who aren't overly persnickety--will enjoy Dublin with O'Neills as their homebase.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main street have more traffic noise but a room on the side/back had kitchen smells in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escape_From_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.7 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
1.8 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Property: O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Address: 36-37 Pearse St, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,963 - ₹ 16,208
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city opposite Trinity College, and only a 5 minute walk to Dublin's premier shopping streets, art galleries, theatres and night life. O'Neill's (established 1885) offers top class accommodation, traditional pub food and great Irish craft beers & whiskeys. The O'Neill family have run this pub for over a hundred years and pride themselves in the warm and friendly welcome they offer their guests. With 8 beautifully appointed en suite rooms guest's can choose between twin, double or triple rooms, or for bigger groups - our family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse Hotel Dublin
o`Neills Victorian Pub And Townhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing