We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overpriced but comfortable clean beds in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #3 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

To be honest having read other reviews I was disappointed. This is a large hostel which seems to be run for profit more than anything else. The showers, rooms and shared areas were reasonable, clean and functional but like the staff, nothing special. I paid 16 euros a night and you can get cheaper hostel accommodation in Dublin with more perks included. The room I was in was spacious and clean, with good luggage storage, comfortable beds and handy plug sockets and lights by each bed. However if your room doesn't have ensuite facilities you may have to walk to another floor for a shower. There are no free internet terminals or breakfast and laundry is 7euros but the luggage storage in the basement is free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on the Generator Dublin.

We were disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. However, I would like to point out that although our Breakfast is €4 we do have a wide range of items in a buffet style. We do charge a small fee for Internet usage but we offer free wifi to all our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,386 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

It might just be because its Dublin, or because the last time I booked with Generator I was with friends in a private room, but I didn't get much sleep during my stay here and I was a bit disappointed! I was in an 8 bed room, and even though not all the beds were full, the other guests came back loud and drunk in the middle of the night. The bar downstairs seemed to be filled with a strange mixture of people - I saw young kids (including a baby) and older folks. It seems that Generator is great if you are traveling with friends, but it was a little strange as a single traveler. That being said, it is very clean and trendy looking. The lockers under the bed are very big (but bring your own lock!)! Its right next to the tram stop (but everything is walking distance), and literally right next door to the Jameson Distillery. The wifi is free, and the staff are friendly and helpful (although since the hostel is pretty large, I often found myself waiting to be helped). Word of warning: the dryers are not the best! I washed my cloths at the laundry in Generator, but even after a long dry cycle they were still damp - traveling/sleeping in wet clothing is not fun! Its not a terrible place to stay, but if I'm back by myself in Dublin I would probably pick a quieter/smaller place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can book a private room or have an almost full dorm room with friends, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnappleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Generator Hostel Dublin. We welcome all your comments and will share them with the team here.

Hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The service was friendly and efficient, the rooms comfortable, the beds heavenly.
I wish I'd understood that breakfast was not included in my tariff before I got there.

I appreciated being nable to sleep in a women-only dorm and having an ensuite bathroom, although the latter is not essential (as long as the bathroom is not unisex)

My only suggestion is that the shower stalls be cleaned every month or so with a dilute bleach mixture to kill the mold. Apart from this, the bathrooms were pristine, and the mold in the showers makes it look tacky and unhygienic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluehat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here at Generator Dublin. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our Housekeeping department is aware of the issue in the showers and all should be recitfied within a very short period.

Hope to welcome you back to Generator Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful hostel, very convenient location, 5 mins by tram to O'Connell street, 10 by bus to College Green/Grafton Street. Bit strange that it isn't allowed to bring your own drinks. Comfy beds. Bathrooms are all located at same floor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zwolle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Dublin Generator. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location central.

Our house rules do state that there is no alcohol allowed in the hostel for security reasons. However, we do open our Hostel bar every evening at 17:30 till late.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here for a stag weekend recently. Although I was very unsure about staying in a hostel, I have to say I was very impressive with the place. Rooms were clean and comfortable, as was the shower room. The only down side to the rom was that it was a little warm as the window was so small and no AC.

The bar and reception area was impressive and the staff were excellent and very helpful. Perfect place to stay for a stag weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin.

We are delighted to hear that you and your party enjoyed your stay and you found our staff helpful.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,407 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 122 in Dublin
2,191 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 122 in Dublin
1,083 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 122 in Dublin
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 1,236 - ₹ 14,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing