We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy but interesting”

St. Michan's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 29.64*
and up
Dublin Gravedigger Ghost Tour
Ranked #34 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Underneath the church are five long burial vaults containing the mummified remains of many of Dublin's most influential 17th, 18th and 19th century families, including the legendary Shears brothers and the highly decorated coffins of the Earl's of Leitrim. Since Victorian times visitors have descended the vault steps to see the mummies and Bram Stoker, creator of the "Dracula" stories is believed to have visited the vaults in the company of his family. In one vault can be seen the remains of the "Crusader" though in fact he is only 650 years dead. The early visitors to the vaults were responsible for many of the myths and legends surrounding the bodies, though modern scientific investigations have cast doubts on many of these stories. Nevertheless, a visit to the Crypts to see the historic mummies is a remarkable experience.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Creepy but interesting”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This tour seems wrong on so many levels but I have to say it was great. Our tour guide was so funny and interesting. You tour the crypts beneath the church and see coffins. The creepiest part is the coffins that are open and the dead bodies. You actually get to touch one of the hands for good luck. Bram Stoker apparently got inspired to write Dracula after visiting which I can definitely understand why.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    288
    59
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Need a new tour guide”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I will preface this by saying I understand that many churches rely upon volunteers to assist them in in ventures such as this. That being said, there is NO excuse for rude and unfunny hosts. The church itself is simple/rustic and we were there for the "main" attraction, being the crypts. I did not catch the tour guides' name but I do know that his behaviour and mannerisms turned me off from even wanting to stay and here the history of the crypts and it's mummies. One of our group actually walked out. Perhaps his gruffness was supposed to be part of his charm but I can say that many people in attendance opted out continuing the tour because no one wanted to spend any longer with him. Disappointment on what should/could have been a fascinating part of Dublin

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank EastCoaster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“See the MUMMIES at St Michan's Church!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

St. Michan's, which was the only church north of the Liffey for a long period, features an organ which supposedly Handle practiced on while writing the Messiah. But, the main attraction at St Michan's is in the passageways beneath the church ... at least three very well preserved mummies. The experience is heightened by the interpretation by Michan's very personable guide. For a really neat 'other world' experience -- and one which costs nearly nothing -- head to St Michan's (right on the way to your tour of Jameson's!). We highly recommend it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A little gem off the beaten track that is well worth a visit. Only 4 Euros each to do the tour and that is worth it just to see the enthusiasm of the guide! A bit creepy but totally and utterly enthralling. Loved it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCatheralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Can't believe I didn't visit it before”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Dublin born and bred I had never been into St Michans until this evening. Found the crypts fascinating. Can't believe how well everything was preserved. At €4 it was excellent value . Recommend it

Helpful?
Thank holsgirlDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michan's Church also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to St. Michan's Church? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing