We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"In the Heart of Things"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"In the Heart of Things"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Arrived at scheduled time however my sisters room was not ready! Her and her partner waited in our room for over an hour and then were told still not ready! She complained and was given an alternative room. Why wasn't this done in the first place? Staff mostly foreign and a couple quite hard to understand. The rooms were adequate with wifi and coffee/tea and biscuits. Central location. In walking distance to all amenities. Use the green/red bus tours, although slightly pricey, as everything is in Dublin, they are worth the money to see all the sights and get dropped off at places of interest. Then just hop on again. The driver's are witty and knowledgeable with their commentary and also provide a sing song. Parking is expensive and at a short distance from Hotel in car park which charges €37.50 a day however Hotel provides a ticket that needs to be stamped at the car park office and you pay a total of €30 this was for two days. Noise levels from the street quite loud so if looking for peace and quiet I wouldn't recommend staying here, but ideal if you want to be in the heart of things.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotters044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Globetrotters044,

Thank you for your review.

I’m sorry to hear that your sister had to wait for her room. Our check in time is 2 o’clock but unfortunately during busy periods we can experience some slight delays.

I am surprised to hear you had issues with some of our staff members as we normally receive great feedback.

I hope to see you back at Temple Bar Hotel soon and if you do be sure to request a quiet room.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dubin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    786
    355
    110
    80
See reviews for
262
816
136
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

myself husband and my sister syayed here. We went for the Easter weekend.The rooms were very spacious with trouser press t.v and tea and coffee provided.They also provide umbarellas for the irish weather.The hotel is central for for most things.There is a pub a few doors away called The Palace with live music upstairs which is a nice friendly pub.Temple bar area is full of friendly bars and restaurants and some good irish characters.We ourselves go evey year as we have relations there and every we cannot fit everything in.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Christine_M,

Thank you for reviewing Temple Bar Hotel.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

I hope to see you back soon, and hopefully next time you won’t need the umbrella!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dubin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A nice hotel close to the main tourist attractions and lots of music. Friendly staff, tasty breakfast, fine rooms. The street is busy, but with a room towards the courtyard, we slept well, even my mother who is 80.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NinabBergen_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear NinabBergen,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your mother had a good sleep!

I will pass on your lovely feedback to the team.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just had 2 nights at the hotel. We arrived in the city v early and it was a long wait till check in. We were in quite early that night after a long day and were shocked at the noise levels, the windows don't offer much protection against this, however this is a hotel with a bar/club and if you research the area before you come you will know this might be an issue and can't complain too much. I do think complementary ear plugs would be useful! The breakfast was very average and I was surprised no real vegetarian option is offered (sausages etc) but it was fine. I'm glad I didn't read some of the negative comments or may not have booked, our room/bedroom was clean and comfy, we liked looking onto temple bar despite the noise. I would stay here again, the location is perfect for going out and looking round the city

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear AJB51,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Due to our central location we do occasionally experience noise levels from the surrounding area. I hope this didn’t disturb you too much and when you return to us be sure to request a quiet room and we will do our best to accommodate you.

I was disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the breakfast in the morning. I will address this issue with the Head Chef immediately.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleen, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Room was large but a little bare. Bed was very big and very comfortable. There was some noise, both from other guests early in the morning and from street traffic later. The hotel is furnished pretty basically but the reception staff were both friendly and efficient. The location is very central. No problem with cleanliness. All in all, great value but could do with a little TLC to make the bedroom area somewhat less spartan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#53 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,227 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,931 - ₹ 22,229
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing