We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great way to conquer jet lag first day.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and great way to conquer jet lag first day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had found Temple Bar on tripadvisor before our journey to Dublin and selected it because of its central location and convienent car park across the street. I had prebooked the room for two nights upon arrival in Dublin and opted to pay for the 'early check in' option. We are so glad we did! We arrived at the hotel at about 6:30am and our room was waiting for us immediately! What a blessing to be able to freshen up and rest a few hours of jet lag before heading out to sightsee! We were concerned about the other reviews that talked of excessive noise at night (The Hard Rock Cafe is next door) but it was not bad at all! Breakfast was great and everything was clean and beautiful. Stay here! We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizshugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Lizshugart,

Thank you very much for your praising review above. I am delighted that your stay with us here was satisfactory and pleasant. We love to accommodate our guests when they arrive early as we know how bothersome it can be to come off a long haul flight and then have to wait for your room!

We hope you come stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    776
    353
    110
    79
See reviews for
254
799
133
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We just *happened* to be in Europe during St. Patrick's Day 2012, and my childhood friend just *happens* to live in Dublin, so we thought, Why not?!

Temple Bar Hotel was literally the only place in town that had an open room for under 250 euro/night on St. Patty's weekend, but it turned out to be a perfect place to stay.

Pros:
- Location is absolutely perfect for experiencing night life and excitement in Dublin. Very close to the river, down the street from Trinity College, and immediately around the corner from the Airbus stop that will take you to/from the airport for a very convenient fee (I think it was 12 euro round trip or "return" as they say in Dublin).
- The room was clean, spacious, and pretty comfortable.
- Staff were very friendly and helpful. (Shout-out to Jenny, who answered all our stupid questions with a graceful smile!)
- Breakfast was a good spread with a lot of great options.
- Bathroom was spacious, with a good shower and tub.
- Free wifi worked just fine; my husband even used it for a work-related Skype call with no problems.

Cons:
- The bed wasn't particularly comfy; the mattress felt old and full of springs, so we tossed and turned all night and felt it every time.
- The door to the hallway was kind of thin, so we could easily hear anyone passing by outside. But if you go to bed late enough and wake up early enough, it's not a problem, because most people are in bed when you're trying to sleep.
- Not a lot of electrical outlets in the room! We had to unplug the TV to recharge our computers, etc.

Overall, a lovely experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Mimhope,

Thank you for your detailed and honest review above! I appreciate the time you took to outline your thoughts on the hotel. I’m glad you were pleased with the standard of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff-I will make sure to praise Jenny for her great work as well as the other employees from the weekend. I am unhappy to hear that you were not satisfied with the mattress in your room. I will address this issue to the Accommodations Manager urgently.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next ‘random’ visit to the city!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel about 6-7 times now and think, all things considered it is the best hotel in Dublin
The location, value for money, cleanliness, service etc makes it cracking value

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meddlingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear MeddlingMike,

Thank you very much for your very kind review above. We are delighted that you consider us as being the best hotel in Dublin and think our property and service is cracking value!

We look forward to your next 6-7 visits!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

You really thinking of paying for the location here.
If you're into the Dublin night life and bar-hopping, this is certainly the place to be.
The room was too small, and somewhat outdated.
Free wifi is nice, but you have to pay if you want to print your boarding pass.
The breakfast was decent.
Despite located in the busy area, the room was really quite and had no trouble resting at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Anakbabiilang,

Thank you for taking the time to leave the above review. I’m surprised you thought the bedrooms were outdated as we only redecorated last year. I’m glad you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you had a good night’s sleep. It’s great to be near the local amenities and shopping destinations.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Locted Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Excellent location, nice room, friendlly helpful staff, great barman in the lounge! In response to anotheer reviewer, my room was in the back and very quiet. Great value for the money, and among the best rates I found for decent lodgings and location. If you want cheap, stay at a hostel.And oh, yes, enjoy the "full Irish" breakfast buffet at the resaurant. If I came to Dublin regularly I would probably make this me "go to" place.

Alyssa H.

Room Tip: The hotel is arranged in a square pattern. The rooms in back are plenty quiet. Although with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Ally 1009,

Thank you very much for your kind review above. I have passed your comments onto all our staff to compliment their good work. I’m glad that you agreed that our rates are great value for money! I will make sure to inform the chef also about your impressive comments about breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit Ally.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#77 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,647 - ₹ 23,596
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing