We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam!”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I've booked it at a good price on Internet few weeks before. Unfortunately, the room was much more expensive on the check-in day! One of the very rude person told me they can do the price they want and threaten me to increase it more if I complain again.
It was easter break, everything else was fully booked, so no other choice to stay there.
At the top of that, the hot water is very limited and the room was very small ( don't rely on pictures on the website) and very dirty (floor, towel...).
Even before I complained about the price, the personnel were very rude, annoyed to give information like the location of a ATM machine or parking.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hsrvsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

This Review is totally untrue. The actual price for 3 night stay was €277, if they had booked it that day it was €307. The lady came to desks saying that rate for double room was €65 per night, i tried to explain nicely that there is no way we would have ever advertised this rate over the Easter period. The lady said she had her booking confirmation upstairs and i asked her to bring it down and would try to solve the matter. She never returned, her companion subsequently came down and said that they never received a booking confirmation but the rate we were charging was wrong. I tried to explain that this was not the case, he then started to complain about the room and we immediately changed his room. At no stage was receptionist or myself rude to the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is essentially a very ordinary hotel in a fantastic location. If you are looking for somewhere clean to sleep bang in the middle of Dublin without being worried about a stylish, spacious room then this fits the bill. My single room on the third floor was modern, characterless and cramped. The en-suite was similar, though with a good shower. Everything was modern and clean.
If you are planning on spending more than two nights, or spending a lot of time in your room, then don't stay here, but for somewhere to rest your head in a perfect location after the exhaustions of a Dublin evening this hotel is relatively inexpensive and ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location could not be more perfect! Decent room, bath was lovely. The hotel and bar and seeped in character, so that was more of what we were looking for in choosing this place. The room was not outstanding, but good.

Room Tip: could be a little noisy on some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Many thanks for your review and we at the Central are glad that you enjoyed yours stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

room was basic, but clean. No hot water for a shower or in the wash hand basin which was very annoying. Reported to receptionist and she didn't seem to care.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the front as can get very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My partner and I had booked a room here the day before we arrived!! We got a cheap deal, and were delighted at the price as its such a central hotel!! .. however on arriving we were told that the price was double what we had booked the night before! The receptionist was rude, and even though we had a booking number for the original value, she explained there was a problem with their website! Long story short, we left, I emailed them and eventually got a reply from a nice lady offering me a complimentary night stay!! We took this offer, and the stay was lovely!! Room was really big, bathroom was too!! So central, its brilliant!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,589 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 150 in Dublin
1,079 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#48 of 150 in Dublin
3,546 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,956 - ₹ 24,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing