We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Check in was a delight... the gentleman was welcoming, professional and we were delighted to be met by an Irish person on reception in a Irish Hotel. It is something that doesn't happen enough. Room was standard 4* room. Executive Floor room on 5th floor. No tea / coffee facilities in the room which was surprizing, however reception delivered a cuppa on arrival to the room.
Comfortable nights sleep, room was fine, average 4* quality, wouldn't blow me away but wouldn't bother me either. Breakfast however was a let down. Tea / Coffee served to the table, got the Full Irish ,sat down and realised that they didnt serve toast, had to go up and make my own, when I got back to the table, the Full Irish was cold. Toast should be served to the table with the tea or be located beside the Hot food, NOT the other side of the room. Rashers & mushrooms overcooked and totally dry. Not one bit impressed with the breakfast. Sorry. Waitress were not too friendly either and there wasn't any sight of a restaurant manager. This hotel is good value though and I am sure I will be back at some stage.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kivapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    433
    161
    62
    66
See reviews for
205
393
51
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

this is a late review. we stayed in the herbert park in late august. this is a hotel we have frequented on numerous occasions and have always been impressed (on one occasion being upgraded to an executive for no additional cost). on this last visit we found that we had to pay for the underground parking and breakfast was not included but would cost an extra 29euro, something we had not realised when booking. i will have second thoughts when looking for accommodation in dublin in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicjk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have been staying in the Herbert Park hotel as a regular guest now for 3 years, I stay on average 2 nights per week. Before choosing the Herbert Park I had stayed in a number hotels in the area none of which met my expectations. The key difference between those hotels and the Herbert Park is the quality of the staff. , The rooms are bright and spacious and are well sound proofed. The staff at the hotel are both professional and friendly , they always go the extra mile to ensure my stay is a pleasant one. This is the key reason why I return to the hotel again and again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Before I begin I’d like to say that I’ve always tried to be honest and understanding about every review I contribute to this site. If you look at any of my other reviews you will see that. We stayed here on Saturday night 10th December and it was a wedding gift from a friend of ours and I have to say this is the worst experience I’ve ever had in a hotel. The location is quite good as it’s in the middle of Ballsbridge and is only a short taxi trip to the centre of Dublin. The bar area has the same atmosphere as an empty warehouse. I’m all for ultra modern open plan spaces but this was like drinking in an aeroplane hanger. The rooms are quite basic with good size bathrooms. We had planned a night out with friends in a pub just across the road and we came back to the hotel bar at 2.30 a.m. and asked for a nightcap only to be told the bar was closed. The manner in which we were treated was disgraceful. I had no problem with the bar being closed but there was no need for rudeness. We made the mistake of going for breakfast the next morning and boy what a mistake. If you like your rashers, sausages and eggs cold then this is the place for you. Breakfast’s are the simplest meals to prepare, in fact I’d say it’s harder to get a breakfast wrong than right. This was nothing short of atrocious. The people at the table next to us complained but after our experience the night before I knew they were wasting their time. We decided to check out early and put this awful place behind us but the final insult was yet to come. We were charged €10.00 for car parking which they informed us was standard. This hotel is a complete let down on quite a few fronts but its biggest failure is its staff. They are rude, unhelpful and seem unmotivated. The staff in a hotel or restaurant can make or break a customer’s experience that much I know. This hotel has a lot of work to do. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBlack77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear ShaneButler,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We have investigated your feedback and from our records you returned to the hotel in the early hours with non-residents that of course we were unable to serve due to the licensing laws. It was not the intention of the night staff to be rude and I am sorry if you interpreted it this way.

We would have have served a fresh cooked breakfast without question had we known at the time that your breakfast was not hot enough. We understand that this is a very important meal service for residents and we want to get it right.

If you would like to discuss your stay further we would be delighted to engage with you directly. Please email info@herbertparkhotel.ie

Management, Herbert Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have been staying in the Herbert park as a regular guest for over 10 years.

The Hotel is modern and very well laid out. The location is superb in Ballsbridge overlooking Herbert Park and ideally located for Concerts and Rugby & Soccer matches as it is right beside the RDS and Aviva Stadium. Nightlife and shopping are also in walking distance. Good car parking facilities.

The staff are very friendly, from reservations to front of house and it is a nice touch to be remembered by name and an effort is normally made to ensure I receive a room with a view.

The rooms are spacious and quiet with large comfortable beds and good facilities.
Breakfast is always top quality and the dining room has great views of the park.
Room rates are very competitive for a four star.

I stay normally as a Business guest but stay occasionally for leisure too and would have no hesitiation recommending the Hotel for city breaks and families as there are some very good packages.

Overall a top class Hotel, ideally located, with excellent facilities and super staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.8 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#21 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.3 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.4 km away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
3.9 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,171 - ₹ 14,809
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing