We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrington House Hostel
Ranked #66 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staff is friendly and helpful, location is good but rooms are quite small and dark and the bathroom facilities are quite unconfortable, but I noticed that this is a general problem in Ireland's hostels. Also the space between the bunks is not large enough.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front building are much lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoL110981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    32
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
8
30
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Nice homely place, quiet. Beds are narrow, so should take separate beds not so called twin. Very nice was the bus stop, and one bus taking from airport to location, near to city center so we walked a lot. Free bicycles at guesthouse was nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Janne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I traveled to Dublin in Octomer 2011 and stayed in Harrington house. Its a peaceful place. just 20 minutes from Center and away from the noise. Staff I think there names aere Urba and Lesly were very helpful. I Booked a bed and i stayed in a single room cause in that season they were not so many people.
Highly recommended if you are looking for a peaceful place at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UPSUITES_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed in Harrington House for 2 nights with my boyfriend.
It is a really cute hostel and felt more like a B and B than a hostel.
We had room 1, which was on the top floor. It was really private. The room was a good size, with a comfortable double bed (extra single bed too).
It was very clean.
I was a little worried staying here as some of the comments were negative but I enjoyed my stay overall. It was so much cheaper than any of the other hostels/hotels I searched.
The only problem was the heating, it was rather cold (we stayed during the cold snap in Feb). It was only our room, so there must have been a problem with that room. I did speak to the owner and she sorted it asap, but it never got really warm.
The breakfast was simple but good. You could eat as much as you liked and they didn't mind if you were eating past the 10am breakfast time.
It took us about 20mins to get to temple bar, walking at a very slow pace.
The 16A bus runs to the airport which was great as it is much cheaper than a taxi! Its a great location if you don't mind not staying in temple bar.
We really enjoyed the local pub 'the bleeding horse' which the owner recommended to us when we first arrived, it is only a 2min walk away.

I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

While the rooms are small, that can hardly be a complaint considering the price and hey, it is hostel living we're talking about here. the beds and pillows are very comfortable. the sheets and bathroom always clean. they come in and clean up every morning. though talkative, the woman who runs the hostel is very friendly and accommodating.
they have bikes available for free though i wouldnt necessarily recommend -- walking dublin is much nicer.
the walls are a little thin but people tend to be pretty respectful about noise so no problem there.
if you actually need a meal, that breakfast will not do the trick. they're completely honest: they call it a continental breakfast which it is. basically bread and butter/jam, orange juice, water, coffee, tea.
MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT: the showers tend to be icy cold. if youre lucky enough to be taking one when she has the heat on then good for you. but i think i had one warm shower during my week there.

Room Tip: i was in a twin room (bunk bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicTendencies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
523 reviews
Portobello Hotel
#104 of 151 in Dublin
264 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Hostel

Property: Harrington House Hostel
Address: 21 Harrington Street | City End, South Circular Road, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,547 - ₹ 11,796
Hotel Class:2 star — Harrington House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are central and it is just a short walk to the Temple Bar(about 20 min), Grafton Street(7 min), City Centre, St. Patrick's Cathedral and St. Stephens Green. Alternatively you could catch one of the buses that run directly past our front door including the 16A bus that runs to and from Dublin Airport (TICKET 2.30 pp.). From O'Connell Street you can take buses 16, 16A, 19, 19A, 122 to our house.Also we are just 5 minutes walk away from Luas stop on Harcourt Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Harrington House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing