We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming affordably priced Dublin Hotel”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is the first place we stayed on our 2 week honeymoon. It is a very charming hotel! We were upgraded upon arrival in celebration of our honeymoon which was a nice treat. The rooms are charming with a canopy bed and cute french looking bathroom. The bar is also very nice and fun. The front desk staff were very helpful setting us up with a hop on hop off bus ticket. The only down side is that it is a 10-15 minute walk to temple bar area. It's kind if out of the way of things a tourist would want to see and their are only 3-4 pubs in local range of the property. However it is close to a Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop that brought us to Guinness Brewery and Kilmainham Gaol. While in Dublin I would recommend going to the Guinness Brewery, Kilmainham Gaol, The Brazen Head Pub (oldest continuously running pub), Gravediggers Pub (a ways out of the City Center). A disappointment was we were not familiar with how breakfast works. Since it looked like a continental breakfast (little bowls of grains/granola, juices, fruit, pastries) we assumed it was free and were shocked to find out they charge somewhere around 15-20 Euro per person for these little bowls of grains and granola. It's a charming property for the price though and they have a parking lot as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenpixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Greenpixies,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments & congratulations. We are honoured that you choose to stay with us at the Schoolhouse as part of your honeymoon. My apologies in relation to the confusion over breakfast & your feedback has been brought to the attention of our restaurant staff.
We trust you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit us at the Schoolhouse again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 853 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a spacious rooms with comfortable beds and a great shower. Ate in the main bar during the evening, the food was great just what was needed after a days travel.
We were away early the next morning and so had arranged an early breakfast with no fuss.
All staff were courteous and extremely helpful, which improved our already excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Ive stayed here at least 3 times & never been disappointed although I'm only getting round to reviewing it now - gr8 place to stay... The super kingside beds are so comfy it was actually through staying here that we purchased 1 for home..., staff were always friendly & helpful ....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loppylouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

we really enoyed our stay here. Centrally located, only a short walk to the city centre. Rooms are modern and clean. Food is fantastic. Staff extremely friendly

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keirafaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Keirefaherty,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review & for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Schoolhouse Hotel. It is not right in the heart of the city but you can walk to the bus which takes you to all of the main tourist attractions. The staff were helpful and friendly and our room was quite big, comfortable and well presented. The breakfast was also very nice along with the pub which served very good meals where we ate on a few of the nights. We would highly recommend this hotel and thought it was good value, very comfortable and loved the character!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby_1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
1.1 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
0.7 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,808 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,620 reviews
3.7 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 8,105 - ₹ 16,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing