We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not far from centre, lovely quiet place, Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #27 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not far from centre, lovely quiet place, Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We thought this might be too far out for walking etc, but infact it was a nice stroll to the city centre etc. breakfast was fine, except my toast never arrived. I was in the conservatory, and maybe should have said, but it wasa disappointment as I LIKE toast . It came 25 minutes after my partner had gone back to room , and when I asked. Othe rthan that breakfast was nice, place was very clean. was good to have the free parking ( though parking spaces are limited). Nice places to eat nearby ( we tried the mexican place) and the walk into the city centre was nice rather than a drag. I'd recommend, though a part of me would like to preserve it as a secret

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmm_messiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    170
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
239
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 night stay for Valentines and honestly could not have asked for more. The day before we were due to check in we recieved a call off the manager saying that she had upgraded our room to a King Size, when we arrived I was surprised by 12 red roses and a bottle of Moet champagne which my boyfriend had arranged - and Evelyn (hotel manager) had chosen a beautiful card with a note inside it from my boyfriend. The guest house has a lovely, homely feel to it - bedroom was clean and fresh towels given to us the next day. We had breakfast in bed one morning which was delicious and they were constantly there if you needed anything! We spent a lot of time in the city centre, visiting pubs etc so got a taxi there and back as it's a little too far to walk.. it costs between 9 and 13 Euro per cab ride into town (depending on your driver) I would also recommend taking a visit to the Guinness factory - it's open 7 days a week and is a fun day out :) On our last day our flight wasnt until eveing time so they let us leave our bags in the hotel whilst we went out for the day. All in all I couldn't fault this place what so ever! It was a perfect weekend and i was absolutely gutted to be going home! Take no notice of any bad reviews because this place was perfect :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A lovely Georgian house hotel. Small but beautifully marked. Warm and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

It is a haven yet it is located 10 minutes from Dublin's centre. It is relaxing yet close to fantastic eateries and pubs. It is classic in presentation and history yet modern in welcome and ambience. It is an excellent place to spend a relaxing week end. The rooms reflect the history and yet are comfortable and well equipped. the breakfast offers a wide choice including fish catch of the day. The welcome is typically Irish. We will be back.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front number42 and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BelfastMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for the Ireland vs Wales match. It was a good choice as the location is ideal for Landsdowne Rd and the accommodation was well priced. It is situated in a lovely Georgian terrace and there are some decent pubs and restaurants in the neighbourhood (Bloom's Brasserie very nice). We stayed in a standard double which was compact, but sufficient. Rooms clean and free Wi-fi. The decor is okay, but would benefit from a refresh.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fuaghman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.3 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,808 - ₹ 12,843
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing