We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #31 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A lovely Georgian house hotel. Small but beautifully marked. Warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

It is a haven yet it is located 10 minutes from Dublin's centre. It is relaxing yet close to fantastic eateries and pubs. It is classic in presentation and history yet modern in welcome and ambience. It is an excellent place to spend a relaxing week end. The rooms reflect the history and yet are comfortable and well equipped. the breakfast offers a wide choice including fish catch of the day. The welcome is typically Irish. We will be back.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front number42 and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BelfastMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for the Ireland vs Wales match. It was a good choice as the location is ideal for Landsdowne Rd and the accommodation was well priced. It is situated in a lovely Georgian terrace and there are some decent pubs and restaurants in the neighbourhood (Bloom's Brasserie very nice). We stayed in a standard double which was compact, but sufficient. Rooms clean and free Wi-fi. The decor is okay, but would benefit from a refresh.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fuaghman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We loved staying at the Waterloo House. Lovely accomodations. Great Breakfast to get you started. Nice neighborhood with easy access to the bus line as well as some restaurants/pubs and grocery stores for grabbing some quick bites or snacks for the room. Staff was nice ...internet access .. Prices were very good. The Waterloo house is not right in the heart of town. It is a bit of a walk to St. Stephen's Green but you can catch a bus. But if you like a morning walk through the Georgian houses and past many pubs ...this would be a wonderful place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sareif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Really liked the location of this hotel, quiet & safe but easy walk to city centre as well as the Aviva stadium.
Hotel was clean & very comfy so no faults there. It was a bit scuffed in places, the paintwork, for example could do with touching up in places, especially in the breakfast room. We sat at a table near the fireplace & noticed the wall was quite scruffy.
Breakfast was nice, had French toast one morning & waffles the next. Very tasty.
My husband had an Irish breakfast which he though was ok, bacon a bit dry & the usual cardboard toast that seems so popular with Irish hotels and b&b's.
I did think it was a bit expensive for what we got but on the positive it was located well & was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37 which is one of their larger rooms. Think room 36 is similar in size. Its also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
598 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
0.4 km away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#73 of 150 in Dublin
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,224 reviews
1.3 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,566 reviews
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,758 - ₹ 15,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing