We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
621
169
56
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
169
56
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian house cranberry bread sunken living room peat fire the main house kippers wonderful hosts full irish the entire staff fresh fruit sitting area home away from home each morning bed and breakfast guest house flights of stairs no elevator
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 2-night reserved room was reassigned because the hotel was concerned with my wife's "mobility" status (knee operation). We were reassigned, without our knowledge, to Room number 12 - a tiny room with twin beds (bedsprings with a 2" padded cover), no thermostat or air conditioning, lights burned out in the bathroom, a toilet seat that was not attached to the bowl, and a dirty, stained bathroom counter top. The staff and my travel agent were informed and we were promised the issues would be taken care of the following day, including the installation of a double bed.

We spent a lousy, hot and uncomfortable night and left the next morning to see the sights of Dublin. We returned at 5 PM and found the following:

* One of three bad light bulbs was replaced.
* The twin beds were pushed together to make our 'double' bed.
* The toilet seat was still not attached.
* The counter top was still dirty.

Tomorrow we depart Dublin. Our stay would have been wonderful had it not been for the incredibly lousy room and staff's zero response to our requests. I will be asking (through our agent) for a refund as well.

Thanks "Number 31" for a truly terrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't go here - they do not keep their word. I will never go back.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
number31dublin, Guest Relations at Number 31, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear William,

We acknowledge your comments and disappointment that we did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Your concerns have been forwarded to management and they have been addressed with the respective departments.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well located on a quiet lane, a four minute walk from the airport bus stop. We arrived at 6:45 am and were immediately welcomed. Too early to check in but he took our bags, settled us in a lovely sunken room with a fireplace. Brought a tray with fresh coffee and invited us to enjoy the newspapers while we waited. When the day staff came around 7:00 she greeted us warmly, explained that there had been an early check out and we could get into our room as soon as it was cleaned. Meanwhile we had a fabulous breakfast, maybe the best breakfast I have had at a hotel. Room was accessed through a courtyard and, as others have mentioned, there are stairs, which I would expect in a downtown heritage building. Good sized room, looked out onto the courtyard. Loved the heated towel rack. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and efficient. 10 minute walk to St Stephen’s green, Starbucks across the lane. Price was comparable to other downtown hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
number31dublin, Guest Relations at Number 31, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Mary Ellen M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We were delighted to read that you found the hotel to be central, breakfast to be fabulous and the staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient.

You are correct, we are a listed building, which is why we are not allowed to have a lift, however a member of staff is always more than happy to assist with luggage.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for choosing Number 31.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This place is so good - charming service - your hosts are relaxed , professional and knowledgeable. Our room in this grand old townhouse was full of character and thoroughly comfortable. Breakfast is incredible. Good location very close to St Stephens Green and a short walk to some great restaurants Just brilliant ....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
number31dublin, Guest Relations at Number 31, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Vincent H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We were thrilled to read that you found the hotel to be charming, the room to be comfortable and full of character, breakfast to be incredible and the service to be charming. Your compliments have been forwarded to the respective departments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for choosing Number 31.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This hotel on itself is joke, but given the price they charge (we paid euro 364/night for a family room) this performance is not good enough.
The hotel is has a charming atmosphere but it does makes the impression it is run by good willing amateurs. Capacity of the breakfast room was not sufficient, the buffet is not filled up regularly, in the small garden there is only one table to sit at, the corridor to our room in the sous terrain was too dark.
The hotel is close to the centre and does have a few parking places of itself

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kees00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
number31dublin, Guest Relations at Number 31, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Kees00,

We are very sorry to read about the issues you encountered during your stay. Your concerns have been forwarded to management and they have been addressed with the respective departments.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We booked this B&B because on the website it looked amazing but when we arrived it was a different story. The guy that took us to our room was friendly but he failed to mention that it was on the very top floor and as my 84 year old mother was with us it was a huge struggle for her to make it. As we were going up he kept saying it's just the next flight and of course it wasn't. All and all we had to climb 97 steps from the front door to the bedroom. We only stayed the one night and as we were going down for breakfast my mother had to make sure she had everything with her to leave because she just would not be able to make it up again. The room itself was ok, it had cracks on the wall and ceilings and the noise from the traffic was awful as the windows were single glazed. The only good thing I can say is the breakfast was good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jr032018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
number31dublin, Guest Relations at Number 31, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear jr032018,

We acknowledge your comments and disappointment that we did not meet your expectations.

One point that we would like to highlight is that we will be undergoing a soft refurbishment over the coming weeks and your concerns regarding the room have been forwarded to the project manager.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews