We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Appalling” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trinity Lodge
Ranked #36 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I booked to stay at this hotel on a Saturday night with my husband and 2 children aged 2 and 5. We arrived at lunch time in Dublin and went straight there to be told that our family room had been double booked and we had no where to stay that night. It was raining and a rugby match was on meaning rooms were scarce. The woman on reception wasn't helpful and was often distracted by the phone and other guests, also refusing to put us in touch with the owner. We met another guest in the same position so it seems likely others hadn't vacated their rooms or had paid more to stay on. We booked well in advance so I can't believe they couldn't have alerted us sooner to any difficulties with the booking, especially with 2 small children.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Charliegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana75, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
-The issue was due to an overbooking which happens very rarely in our hotel and was a genuine mistake. However a lot of hotels are in the same position as in general many hotels have a practice in this regard in case of cancellation. We do not have this policy in place.
-The guest was booked in a 5 star hotel for the evening: Four Seasons-Dublin. We have also compensate him financially in this regard.
-No other guest was in the same position as the reviewer asserts.
-The receptionist was not distracted as she tried several hotels in Dublin to try to assist the guest. However she had to assist other guests as well.
-The guest was able to speak with the Management while in Trinity Lodge and we have given every assistance in this regard.
-In the end I would like to mention that due to the fact that the review is inaccurate should be removed from your site as it was initially, as the guest already posted the review on the 5th September and was allowed to re post him on the 8th September without any verification.

Roxana Cabaua
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    193
    115
    57
    52
See reviews for
131
186
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The staff was very helpful and directed us to some wonderful attractions throughout the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Spacious family room and close to all the Dublin sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassicalScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Unfortunately the only positive thing I have to say about Trinity Lodge is the location. As you may have read in other reviews the staff is definitely questionable but what I haven’t seen yet is how unsafe you might be in the event of an emergency. Staying on the top floor with no fire escapes or second stairwell I felt extremely unsafe in case of a fire. Also having stayed on the street side I was kept up all night from noise in the area. Horrible stay to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxana75, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
- Trinity Lodge has fire escapes which are clearly indicated by the signage within the hotel. The information what the guests should do in case of a fire is also displayed in each guestroom, on the door. The lodge has also a Fire Certificate to enable it to operate as required by the law. Should the guest had any questions in this respect he should have raised his concerns during his stay and the staff would have clarified all issues in this regard.
- There is no noise in the area where Trinity Lodge is located regardless if the rooms are facing the front or back of the hotel.
- As a conclusion considering the points raised in the review it is posted with wrong intent.
Thank you for your comments but they should be objective in order to help travelers.
Regards,
Roxana Cabaua
Manager Trinity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at the Trinity Lodge on August 7th. Although we stayed in the dépendance which lacked from the Edwardian charm touted in the Lonelyplanet guide, I must recognize that it wasn’t disturbed by any traffic or street noise. However at 6:30 AM we were abruptly woke up by a loud and intense vibration. The wall behind our bed was literary quivering. After a while it would stop and then begin again. This intermittence loud noise went on for half an hour. We couldn’t figure out what it was until ourselves took a shower and found out the extreme noisy pumping equipment the hotel has installed (Triton). Since the bathroom of the room 11 is adjacent to the head bed of room 12 the result is like being in a shaker!
This nuisance which is troublesome during the day, becomes obnoxious during sleeptime. Our complain to the management was liquidated with the excuse that “the regulations with regard to listed buildings as Trinity Lodge limit what can be done to soundproof the rooms. Therefore there is a certain amount of noise that sometimes can be heard in the rooms”. I’d rather wished that regulations limited modern noisy pump system which was installed without any concern to the comfort of the customer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 km away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.5 km away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.5 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.1 km away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Property: Trinity Lodge
Address: 12 South Frederick Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,206 - ₹ 24,407
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Hotel in the Heart of DublinSituated in the heart of Dublin's business district & cultural quarter, near Trinity College, this family-owned elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses .The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style& comfort .Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, the city's museums and theaters are just a few steps away. Aviva Stadium, RDS, Grand Canal Theatre, IFSC, Dublin Convention Centre, The O2 Arena, Croke Park, Gaiety Theatre, National Concert Hall are all within easy reach. Stephen's Green Park, Christchurch and Saint Patrick's Cathedrals, National Gallery of Ireland, Leinster House, Dublin Castle, National Library of Ireland, Iveagh Gardens, James Joyce Museum are all located within walking distance from us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing