We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,355)
Filter reviews
2,355 results
Traveller rating
744
967
431
143
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
967
431
143
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews o'connell street music shop ray cox vault restaurant live irish music georgian building downstairs bar full irish breakfast temple bar lovely hotel tour buses single room city centre family room cooked breakfast airport bus street noise
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 2,355 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

The hotel is only a 20 minuite walk from the temple bar area, and easy walking distance to a lot of other places of interest in Dublin the open top tourist bus stops just across the road, it costs 10 euros, you can hop on and off all day,
the hotel is quite old but maintains it charm with old furniture and pictures,
the breakfast was excellent with a very good selection, cooked breakfast , cold meats and cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc, but it does get busy between 9 and 10,
The hotel has its own restaurant in the cellar offering pub grub and traditional dishes, and a bar where on some evenings they have a folk singer,
The only 2 downsides to this hotel was that we stayed in room 152 and when the buses went past the window rattled, and if you tried to have a shower at busy times in the morning the water was cold, other than that we enjoyed our stay, we would return but in a different room.

Room Tip: Dont have a room facing the church, the traffic can be noisy
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Castle H, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We are very happy to her that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the feedback you provided as this is what helps us to continually improve for your guests. we will look into the issues you outline with room 152. We hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I stayed in the Castle Hotel from May 1 through 8, 2018.
My room was #419. It was a very small room but it is clean and there is a window you can open for ventillation. If you are a seasoned traveller, you must have developed the 'will do' mode. The size of #419 is a 'will do' room.
It has the usual necessities, i.e. bath towels (large and small) floor towel, but they do not have face towels or wash cloths. It has a bathroom and a shower. The water pressure on the showe is a very low. It has a water kettle for hot water, they provide with instance coffee, tea, sugar and cream.
They service and clean the room everyday unless you instruct them not to.
The hotel is very conveniently located in the northern section of the city centre. It is walking distance to public transportation.
The staff were very helpful and acommodating.
The hotel offers free traditional Irish breakfast.

Room Tip: Room #419 is a very small room and it is facing the main street.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akatecumseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

I picked this hotel for its location. It was convenient for me to walk to the city center and to the railway station to travel to other cities.
Nice small rooms, but it was enough for one.
Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tortugamuyfeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Castle H, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi tortugamuyfeliz,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us! We are very happy to hear that we could provide you a pleasant stay and we hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and the room good-sized. Our room was very noisy with street traffic as well as sounds carrying throughout the hotel - voices I. The hallways, doors shutting etc. I was awakened at 3 am by hallway noise and had a difficult time getting any rest. The location was good, music in the basement pub, and staff seemed very accommodating.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Irishimp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Castle H, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Hello Irishimp17,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We have taken your comments on board and will look into the issues which you outlined. We are very happy to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating as well as enjoyed the music in The Castle Vaults. We do hope you will return to us in the future as we strive for every guest to have a pleasant stay with us

Kind regards,
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a family of 4 in a quad room. It was very cramped completely different than in the pictures. The cleaning service was poor. They did not wash our glasses or cups or take our rubbish out or replace our coffee or tea. The shower was a dibble at best. The walls are paper thin and you could hear evey word in the next room. We did not have a hair dryer as the fuse was blown and we had to complain before they would give us a replacement. The remote for tv was missing and it took a day for them to find another one. The breakfast was cold and the eggs were overcooked. On the up side it was in a fairly good location.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_OKeeffe, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Debbie Y

Thank you for your feedback. Of course I am sorry that you should have cause for complaint, perhaps you could contact me at yvonne@castle-hotel.ie to let me know which room you were allocated and which dates you stayed with us so I can review the situation in more detail. All rooms should be cleaned on a daily basis with towels, tea/coffee etc. replenished daily and I do not find it acceptable that your room was not cleaned nor your requests met. I would be very grateful if you had the time to contact me so I can ensure the departments involved have retraining if necessary.

Kindest Regards

Yvonne O'Keeffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews