We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stauntons on the Green
Nearby Hotels
US$ 259
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
US$ 176
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 306
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$ 222
US$ 207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 461
US$ 308
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 241
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$ 187
US$ 174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
261
358
151
71
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
358
151
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiveagh gardensgreat locationgrafton streetst stephensno elevatorgeorgian buildingstephen's greennational concert hallyogurtguest housefull irish breakfastthe ground floorwould stay here againcentral dublintrinity collegefamily roomsingle bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in a triple room in Stauntons with 2 college friends lately and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was in the older part of the building and full of character. Its location is really fab-stepping out the front door onto St.Stephen's Green is a treat. The breakfast was lovely and for € 126 for 3 people, good value in Dublin city centre. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMCWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions, very comfortable, great breakfasts and best location in Dublin overlooking St Stephens Green and very close to Grafton St Shopping and the great pubs and restaurants around Merrion St and Dawson St. Downside was the price at 190 Euros B&B for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Firstly, the staff were lovely and the location is top-notch. Everything else gets a big thumbs down unfortunately. We were first put in an old room, which was very, very tired-broken curtain rails, filthy carpet, mildew in the bathroom, ancient TV. Beds were fine but the bathroom-which frankly looked like an illegal construct tacked onto the room-had no ventilation and had been heavily doused with hardcore chemicals (to mask something more ominous ?). I have asthma and could not breathe. They could not move us until the next day, so on a chilly February day, we kept windows open all day in the hopes of improving air quality. The room was generally ratty and hygiene not great-crunchy stains on the valance etc. Uuugh. We were moved to a much smaller "new" room, which was an improvement. Nonetheless, massive water stains on the ceiling and paper thin ceiling that made every flush of the toilet upstairs-over our bed-made for a horrible nights sleep. Breakfast was barely edible. Couldn't wait to get home.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 403-the toilet in the above unit is directly over the bed (which clearly leaked once upon a time judging from water stains on the ceiling). It made for an awful nights sleep as each flush from our neighbour (and there were many) woke us up. We moved from the older portion of the building due to mold and chemical smells.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowfatigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at Stauntons for two nights on business, having stayed in Dublin at another hotel on several occasions. I chose it based entirely on its proximity to where I would be working.

Having emailed in advance to say that I would be arriving earlier than the advertised earliest check-in time of 2pm, the very amiable receptionist directed me to my room at 11am, which was very kind. I’m never fussed about being taken to the room itself – how unnecessary it usually is to say “this is a key”, or “this is how the taps work” etc. – and anyway I suspect she was not allowed to leave the reception unattended.

I stayed in a single-occupancy double room (€95 per night) to the rear of the hotel, in what must be a two-storey extension. The room was blistering hot in the eaves with the radiator on full, but two Velux skylights allowed for some regulation of the temperature. The room overlooked a small garden, leading out over a square to the south of the hotel. It was remarkably quiet for a city centre hotel.

The room was well appointed and clean if not particularly stylish. I was very surprised to see a very old tube-style TV rather than a flatscreen, but from looking into other rooms when the doors were ajar whilst being cleaned, I note that flatscreens seem to be the norm. Unfortunately I couldn’t watch the TV anyhow because there was no remote control; I later discovered one had to collect this with one’s room key on check-in, presumably because previous guests were pilfering them. There was a strong, if annoyingly intermittent, free WiFi signal.

Whilst it certainly didn’t mar my stay, as a rule there were a few things seemingly absent in the room. As I mentioned before, the lack of TV remote control was very odd. When I wanted to quickly write down a colleague’s number, there wasn’t any stationery, and nor was there a ‘do not disturb/please clean my room’ sign.

The bed was very firm, which I far prefer, and the bedding very crisp and clean. I slept very well, with the dawn light halted by Velux blackout blinds rather than by curtains. The bathroom was adequate, although one of the two spotlights had blown so it was rather dim. The towels – surely something so simple to get right – were rather thin and grainy, perhaps having seen too many washes. The shower was very powerful and reviving.

Breakfast was the usual buffet of cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit, supplemented by cooked items to order. The black pudding rather resembled poker chips in appearance and taste, but everything else was edible enough. The service at breakfast was efficient, but rather removed and charmless. At all other times service was very amiable, helpful and courteous, and therefore very Irish.

All in all, Stauntons is a good business hotel for those wanting to be in Dublin City Centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear will not have any traffic noise at all.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Looks small from the outside but, once you go in, you find an attractive and spacious townhouse with large common rooms and big bedrooms. Got a warm welcome from the front desk (it was freezing outside) and the room was a good size, very clean and as it was on the side, quiet too. Mind you, the south side of St Stephens Green is not that noisy anyway.

Breakfast was great - anything you want from a full Irish to muesli and everyone I spoke to at the hotel was very amiable. Very good value for money too.

Previously I have stayed in or near Temple Bar on numerouns trips to Dublin, but I shall stay here again because, even though it's 15 minutes walk from the bottom of Grafton Street, it's a much more relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or the back.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews