We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great couples get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Loved the restaurant.
Beautiful lobby and exterior, room was nice, staff was great.

Had a 110v outlet in room :-)

Stayed: April 2012
Thank DanielJDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind words. Delighted you had such a terrific stay with us and would be happy to welcome you back again!
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,297 - 3,301 of 4,194 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I found my stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel to be perfectly adequate. It was the first hotel of 4 that I would be using during my trip to Ireland, and I was only there for one night. I found the bed to be very comfortable, and I enjoyed a great night's sleep.

The outside of the hotel is very imposing with the contradiction between the old castle facade and the modern glass additions. This contradiction was also in place in the hotel's interior where the lobby furnishings were fitting with your impression of a castle, but the furnishings in the room were very modern.

Breakfast in the hotel was a typical buffet with a few hot food selections and was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas_Traveler_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you had a very nice stay with us and were impressed with the décor and architecture of the hotel as well as the buffet breakfast.
I hope had a great visit to Ireland and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle again some time soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband, 15 month old son and I recently stayed at this hotel. We have stayed here previously. It must be said that the whole experience was wonderful. The room was gorgeous, the food at the bar was first class and the staff were so helpful with my 15 month old son, whom they chatted and made much of. The hotel is a bus ride from the city centre so you can leave the car there and dont have to worry about parking. The breakfast is so wonderful with a huge selection. The staff everywhere are so friendly and kind. It is a wonderful break away destination near the sea! It has everything

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharontrayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you ahd such a wonderful stay with us recently. I was especially delighted to hear how impressed you were with the food and the service of our dedicated staff. I hope you had a memorable visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A special offer was advertised on website for this Hotel. I purchased the voucher in good faith and booked the hotel as a gift to my partner for there birthday. The date we booked for was booked well in advance and voucher details given to reservation team with booking confirmed, and was also the week we were getting married. I wanted this to be the start of a beautiful time in our lives. We traveled 3.5 hours and had stopped along the way in the city for some last minute shopping. We then arrived to hotel and to check in, where I was told I had to have the print off of voucher to check in. we had bags piled high in lobby and it was a busy time, in all my hurrying to get to hotel in time I'd forgotten voucher ( I also presumed having already made them booking and given voucher UNIQUE code that the print-off was not required). I showed Id and credit cards and unique booking code yet they still required voucher. The gentleman informed me i could use there computer to the side to print off. When I logged on it would not allow my email providers site - he knew nothing of this as he couldn't work computers........ his colleague stated we needed to print it off even though I had email on my phone and there computer wasn't accepting Hotmail!!! I inquired as she sat behind her desk ignoring us if there was another computer - there was over in a corner, I went to use it but it was pass-worded, I then returned and had to ask for it whilst being ignored again. At this stage it was over thirty minutes and all very embarrassing as my partner was just left there sat with all the bags in front of other guests! eventually printed it off and handed it to the very rude lady on the desk who didn't even acknowledge us or inform us which direction to get to room. We arrived to room it was quite a tight space, relatively clean.

We got changed quickly and headed downstairs to dine as this was part of package. The bar was full, we sat at bar where a nice waiter handed us menus we showed him vouchers and he went to speak to someone else behind bar where they stated that offer is OVER!!!(it wasn't it was inline with offer of voucher) left him there in front of us. He eventually found an old menu that was slightly destroyed and apologised. At this stage we were already late with everything that had occurred for a show in town. so we opted for something quick or so we taught. We ordered our food and waited over 40mins for it to arrive!!!! at which stage just before it arrived we stated we had to leave in 5mins. We ordered drinks whilst waiting. The food arrived and it was to late, what we received was not very appetizing and we also had to go to catch show!

We arrived back after an excellent show and decided we'd just have breakfast in bed the next morning rather than any of the hassle occurring like earlier that night. So we completed the docket and informed porter of breakfast choice. The breakfast arrived on time, however we'd already been awake for sometime as a member or members of staff had decided it would be a good time to empty glass bottles into bins directly outside our window early in the morning, banging constantly. We quickly ate our breakfast and decided we'd just leave - all in all not the sort of experience we were expecting and by far the worst experience we've ever had in a Hotel and this Hotel ain't cheap!!! For what they are charging and for the experience you expect to have in a Castle - You'd expect some 1st class CUSTOMER Service, don't think it exists in this Hotel - accept for the guy who took our order in the bar.

Do not waist your money or time in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Felt very cramped - staff member emptying glass bottles in bins early next morning for sometime!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My one condition of coming to Ireland was that we stay at least one night in a castle. Our travel agent let us choose between 5 different castles throughout the country, but I'm convinced we made the best choice. Lovely setting, the most comfortable bed of all of our stays, excellent breakfast and great atmosphere. We only left our room to eat, we loved it so much!

Stayed: September 2011
Thank Lisavh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the kind review. I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with everything especially the food, atmosphere and your room. I hope you had a terrific visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,697 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 8,870 - ₹ 19,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing