We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and great location”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The room was very nice, the location was great, and the people were wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferlpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear jenniferlpatrick

Thank you very much for the response you have posted and the time you have taken to do so. I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us while you stayed wiht us here in Dublin.

I hope to welcome you back to The Westin soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,548)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,758 - 1,762 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Chose to stay at the Westin Dublin as the starting point of our 8-day vacation in Ireland - great decision! The hotel was perfectly located - just a few minutes walk to Temple Bar area, Trinity College, O'Connell St Bridge, shopping/Grafton St, HOHO busses, etc. We knew it was close but maps didn't do it justice, having never visited the city before. Service was excellent, rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were able to check-in mid-morning after the night flight from JFK which was such a relief. Our atrium double room was spacious and very quiet.
The beds at the Westin were the best we had all week! We stayed at B&B's throughout the country for the rest of the trip and while they were spotlessly clean and wonderful in many ways, every one had beds like concrete slabs.
Our only frustration was that we didn't know the lights in the room were controlled by a room key devise just inside the doorway - took us a while to figure it out and reception never mentioned it.
Highly recommend the Westin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear kate04

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of The Westin Dublin.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your eight day trip to Ireland and we were a part of your vacation. We have a fantastic location here right in the middle of Dublin and I am happy you could enjoy the central location. I am very happy to read that we were able to help you rest and rejuvenate while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed our ‘Heavenly Beds’.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

After reviewing photos of the Westin's rooms on its website, my husband booked a junior suite to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary SEVEN months in advance of our arrival in Dublin. One week before we checked in, he also personally met with a representative at the front desk to reserve a parking space in the hotel's parking garage after we returned from our visit to Cork. She assured him that this would not be a problem, quoted him the nightly parking fee and verified the information under our reservation booking. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel several days later, we were abruptly informed at curbside that the hotel parking lot was full, that it did not matter whether we had reserved a parking space in advance and were instructed to find a parking spot at another garage. While my husband scrambled to locate the garage, I waited in a long line at the front desk, which was only manned by one person. Instead of a junior suite, we were given a "writer's room" and were forced to pay the same rate as the much larger, individually decorated junior suite that we had looked forward to staying in. The "writer's room" was sub par with a non-functional layout. No explanation was given by the hotel; my assumption was that a large wedding party and their guests took over most of the rooms in the hotel before we arrived. When we departed, there was no one to assist us with our bags to the car. I ended up loading the car myself. The only positive comment I can give the Westin is its location. What a letdown. Next time we will stay at the Shelbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasadena4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear pasadena4

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us in The Westin Dublin. We do value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a business.

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room and the parking facilities. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the writers’ room as these are our newly refurbished rooms. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss the issues you experienced I would be happy to go through things with you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Staff was very friendly. Hotel and room were beautiful. Service was great! PLUS! You cannot beat the location as it is in the center of all the activity in Dublin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear AMSAAB

Thank you very much for posting your review of The Westin Dublin. I am glad you could rest and rejuvenate when you stayed with us in April.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in two other hotels and a B&B while in Ireland. This hotel was lovely. I travel a great deal for work and this is one of the nicer hotels I've stayed in period. We got an upgraded suite. I was told by a friend who had stayed here previously, that if you book a standard room, it will be an interior room without windows. So, we went with the upgrade. The room was huge and the bathroom was spa-like. It had a large jacuzzi tub and a glass enclosed shower. Marble throughout. The room had been a part of a recent renovation and you could tell. The decorative touches were right on the mark. The negatives- check in process was really chaotic. We drove up and were told we had to park at a city lot because the garage was full. Exactly what we wanted to hear after 3 hrs of driving and being at the end of the trip. As we waited for someone to help with our bags, two additional staff members proceeded to tell us the same thing. It took about 30 minutes at least to have our luggage brought in. We then had to wait for about another 30 minutes to check in and I was a preferred member but it was not much quicker than those who weren't.

But, all in all the room was amazing. We stayed at the Conrad Dublin another night and this was above and beyond better than that hotel. Expensive---but the room was very nice. Excellent location right by Temple Bar and although we were abutting the main street, we didn't hear a thing. Sound proofing was excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade if you want a window, non-interior room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Kris L
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay in The Westin Dublin I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms.
However I am very sorry for the poor experience you had while you were checking in. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss the issues you experienced I would be happy to go through things with you.
Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss things further.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
3,987 reviews
0.5 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.7 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 19,416 - ₹ 53,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing