We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,585)
Filter reviews
2,585 results
Traveller rating
591
983
601
231
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
983
601
231
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vat house vat bar temple bar great location free entry noisy at night bar downstairs central location night life bars and restaurants early hours great bar trinity college grafton street nightlife pub guinness
Filter
Updating list...
1,740 - 1,745 of 2,585 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Right in the middle of Temple Bar. Perfect for walking round Dublin. Decor is a bit dated, could do with a lick of paint. The public toilets in the bar area could do with a clean up. The room is basic but perfectly clean linen and towels. I would stay here again if I was going to Dublin to a show or shopping. It's only a few minutes walk form the Olympia. Staff very nice and friendly, especially in the bar. The disco was a bit loud but as we were on the 4th floor it didn't keep us awake.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor so you don't hear the disco or the people on the street late at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mrsmcmoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just back from a fabulous weekend at Blooms, we did intend to see more of Temple bar but the service and atmosphere in Blooms, the VAT bar and M club were so good we didn't venture far for long!
Wish we had a local like the VAT bar, the staff are amazing, can't do enough for you and happy to chat and give you a smile.
New girl Nicky worked a 13 hour shift and was still smiling and bar man Nick was indeed a pleasure to meet, one of us was full of cold, he gave her the best hot toddy ever, shame about the lack of roast but the sausages were good!
We will defo be back!!!

Room Tip: the club is open until 3am Friday and Saturday nights, noise didn't bother us as we were partying but maybe not for a quiet break
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomaido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Location of Hotel is right in the centre of temple Bar,very close to Gogarty's pub with VERY loud youngsters spilling out onto the street until very late.
Hotel is very dated,double glazing ineffective,dirty carpets.
My complaint about the noise on the first night was sympathetically dealt with and I was moved to another room on the third floor,just higher up overlooking the same road!
Luckily I had earplugs otherwise I would have checked out early.
If you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the place.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel needs a complete overhaul. It is very outdated. The carpet in our tiny little room was very old and stained. Paint was peeling off of the walls.
The staff was cordial, but not overly friendly.
If you do consider staying here, make sure that you know that there is a night club with loud music until at least 2:00 am. I don't think there is a quiet room in the entire hotel. Thankfully we had earplugs, but you could still hear the loud base.
It is in a good location to walk to everything around the Temple Bar area, but there are some other hotels that might be better options.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cogriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Blooms Hotel was a good place to stay for our first night in Dublin. It as clean and bright, with comfortable accommodations and easy access. The reception was professional and helpful with information, and allowed us to stow our luggage in a locker closed when we arrived before our room was ready. Our room was a quad for family with comfortable beds, simple design, good lighting, and a balcony. The bathroom had no ventilation so it fogged up with steam whenever a shower was taken. The shower curtain only covered half around, so privacy was a problem. The other bad things was the noise. It is located in Temple Bar which is convenient, but noisy at night, as the loud music and people partying below travels easily up to the windows above. If you are interested in sleeping, ask for a room on a different side and higher up farther away from some of the noise. The breakfast was optional as included or not included in your cost. We took the breakfast and found it to be a buffet of average food, but filling. The staff throughout the hotel were very kind and greeted us constantly. All in all, Blooms was good, though it would not be my first choice in the future due to the noise. I would recommend it otherwise, if that is not a problem for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews