We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 148
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 340
US$ 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 377
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 352
US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 235
US$ 208
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$ 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveller rating
673
719
261
75
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
719
261
75
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerrion squaretrinity collegeginger mannational gallerywithin walking distancetemple barhop on hopjunior suiteexcellent locationlovely hotelgrafton stroom was largecentral locationbreakfast was includedwould highly recommend this hotelvisiting dublindevonport
Filter
Updating list...
1,329 - 1,334 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

After staying at the Davenport at Xmas, and Dublin being closed from Xmas Eve (7-30 p.m. onwards) until Boxing Day, we thought we would go back and experience Dublin itself. We travelled the 12th to the 15th April. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, but within walking distance of many of Dublin's attractions, Temple Bar and Grafton Street only 15 mins away. The hotel was once again brilliant with us, we arrived at 10-30 a.m. and we were checked in, and given a great room, with all the facilities necessary. My Mother was with us, but staying across the road at the Mont Clare, but the hotel suggested that she have breakfast with us at the Davenport, which was gratefully accepted. The staff at the hotel were once again, very helpful, and gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go, and also gave us hints as to the best way to get around.
Once again our heartfelt thanks to all the staff for a memorable trip and we hope to stay with you again in the future.

John & Carol

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Johnm

Thank you for the kind words looking forward to having you back again soon

Kind regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The room was fine, but the staff was horrible. If you walked up to reception they would look at you and say "what do you want?". I wanted to book a trip and one gentleman said they could help in the morning, I called in the morning and the woman said I had to walk 15 min to the bus station to see if anything was available. The only part of the staff that was nice were the maids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While on business travel I enjoyed the Hotel as well as the lunch they server in particular. It appeared that many locals came here to have lunch, which I can only recommend based on good quality, friently staff and modest price.
The staff was excellent and did whatever was necessary to make my stay a pleasure. The only downside was that a busload of tourists got into the breakfast room and devoured the buffet. Otherwise the buffet would have been OK. So my advice would be to take your time for breakfast to allow the hotel staff to replenish the buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 850t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear 850t5

Thank you for the lovely review your experienced works are all the more meaningful.

Kind regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My family and I were in Dublin on Saint Patrick's Day weekend. This hotel has an excellent location and the staff are very helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, explained how to get to the sites, explained the hop on-hop off schedule, and anything else we needed. They even made excellent recommendations for pub!!

My room was large and very clean. They had a American outlet in the room which made charging my kindle, ipod, and camera very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Gingerman on a weekend! It does get a bit noisy over there.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked for three nights at the 3-star O’Callaghan Mont Clare in Merrion Street, Dublin. Arriving by Aircoach from Dublin Airport to the very convenient stop on Merrion Square North just two minutes from the hotel entrance, we were faced by blank stares from the reception staff. “We have no booking for you on our system – and our hotel is full”. Fortunately, I had brought with me a print-out of the booking from lastminute.com, plus a pre-payment receipt. Without these handy pieces of paper, we would have been turned away onto the street. The staff looked hard to try to find some mistake in what we had. So, BEWARE – the O’Callaghan booking system is faulty. Eventually, after a long wait, no apology and much mumbling from the staff, our patience – possibly they thought we were stubborn but we were very controlled - was rewarded and we were directed across the road to the O’Callaghan Davenport. This was not the perfect start to our Dublin stay. First impressions colour one’s judgement – and this first impression was very poor.
The Davenport claims four stars. Reception staff were efficient but there was no assistance with luggage and no welcoming smiles. The décor of the Davenport is dominated by dark wood panelling, cold marble and heavy furniture. This certainly matched our feelings of being unloved and unappreciated. After that, things got better. Our room looking over adjacent roofs was quiet, reasonably comfortable with large double bed (two singles put together), desk, small table and one easy chair. The bathroom was reasonably well appointed. The water pressure was huge and showers in the bath were invigorating. The fitted hair dryer was not functioning but we found a portable one on a high shelf. Again, it is debateable whether four stars are justified as the bathroom amenities such as shower gel and shampoo were either missing or poor. There was a cheap plastic mini-kettle for tea and coffee and a small saucer of a few tea bags and coffee sachets. It all seemed rather sparing and reluctant. The same feeling predominated at breakfast, charged separately at Euro11.95, with mini bowls of fruit and yoghurt on the buffet, and the need to chase a waiter to order anything that was not in the rather dried-out offerings of scrambled egg and bacon. Our ordered poached eggs turned into a boiled egg. The waitress disclaimed all responsibility and it was only a waiter much later who sorted the mistake. No apologies again – just a grudging hunch of the shoulders.
On the plus side, the O’Callaghan Davenport is superbly located, as others have noted on TripAdvisor. One tip: if you are there for a Saturday, you can get free tickets at 10.30 a.m.at the National Gallery across the road from the hotel for a guided tour around the Taoiseach’s (Prime Minister’s) Office. Tours are only on Saturdays and are very instructive – we could get right into Enda Kenny’s (the current Taoiseach) office and cabinet rooms, see all his personal artefacts including presents from other heads of state, and even the photos of his children on the window sill. You couldn’t do that in Downing Street or Pennsylvania Avenue.
To conclude, the O’Callaghan Davenport is reasonably comfortable but nothing special – and you might have similar frustrations to ours. If we had paid the full rate, we would have been extremely disgruntled; but we didn’t and we were modestly happy with our stay. We would have been rather more happy if someone – a smiling manager, perhaps – had apologised for making a total mess of our booking.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Sox299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear sox299

Thank you for taking the time to review the O’Callaghan Davenport / Mont Clare hotels. I am not responsible for the Mont Clare hotel but would none the less like to apologies for the reception you described receiving there this certainly would not be the standard the group strive to achieve. As you mentioned in your review this did somewhat tarnish your opinion of the stay with us here in the O’Callaghan Davenport hotel. I have discuss your comments on our breakfast team at the latest management meeting and as always we strive for constant improvement here and have already tweaked our breakfast selection and engaged in a customer service drive for all food and beverage staff. I do hope you would choose to return to us again soon.

Best regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews