We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here 5 nights, location is great. Hop on Hop Off bus is around the corner across from the hotel. Room was good, bathroom fine. Glad I brought my travel hair dryer, there is one in the bath but not very good. Comfy bed, thermostat for heat/ac which we did use. Room nicely cleaned everyday. Worst thing about this hotel is there is not any wifi, not even in the lobby. You have to pay I think 2.99 euro for 1 hour & that is not wireless. OR pay 12.99 euro for 24 hours which would be wireless in your room. Anyway, we never did pay to get it. And each time you use the phone, even w/card, you get charged .50 cents. Other than that, which I guess is inconsequential, it was a good place & extremely convenient to lots of sites, cafes, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbird370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Catbird370,
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Kind Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    661
    226
    54
    31
See reviews for
279
651
71
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

After staying at the Davenport at Xmas, and Dublin being closed from Xmas Eve (7-30 p.m. onwards) until Boxing Day, we thought we would go back and experience Dublin itself. We travelled the 12th to the 15th April. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, but within walking distance of many of Dublin's attractions, Temple Bar and Grafton Street only 15 mins away. The hotel was once again brilliant with us, we arrived at 10-30 a.m. and we were checked in, and given a great room, with all the facilities necessary. My Mother was with us, but staying across the road at the Mont Clare, but the hotel suggested that she have breakfast with us at the Davenport, which was gratefully accepted. The staff at the hotel were once again, very helpful, and gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go, and also gave us hints as to the best way to get around.
Once again our heartfelt thanks to all the staff for a memorable trip and we hope to stay with you again in the future.

John & Carol

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Johnm

Thank you for the kind words looking forward to having you back again soon

Kind regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The room was fine, but the staff was horrible. If you walked up to reception they would look at you and say "what do you want?". I wanted to book a trip and one gentleman said they could help in the morning, I called in the morning and the woman said I had to walk 15 min to the bus station to see if anything was available. The only part of the staff that was nice were the maids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While on business travel I enjoyed the Hotel as well as the lunch they server in particular. It appeared that many locals came here to have lunch, which I can only recommend based on good quality, friently staff and modest price.
The staff was excellent and did whatever was necessary to make my stay a pleasure. The only downside was that a busload of tourists got into the breakfast room and devoured the buffet. Otherwise the buffet would have been OK. So my advice would be to take your time for breakfast to allow the hotel staff to replenish the buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 850t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear 850t5

Thank you for the lovely review your experienced works are all the more meaningful.

Kind regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falls church
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My family and I were in Dublin on Saint Patrick's Day weekend. This hotel has an excellent location and the staff are very helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, explained how to get to the sites, explained the hop on-hop off schedule, and anything else we needed. They even made excellent recommendations for pub!!

My room was large and very clean. They had a American outlet in the room which made charging my kindle, ipod, and camera very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Gingerman on a weekend! It does get a bit noisy over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,052 - ₹ 20,640
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing