We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff and a decent nights sleep”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was the staff that brought my rating of this hotel up, they are all very welcoming and helpful. The room we got was right over the main street so was a bit noisy. The room itself grand for a 2 night stay and good for the price. Only negative was the breakfast, only for it was free I would have been requesting a refund on that.

Room Tip: Ask for one off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishcityhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Looking for a combination of a hostel and a greasy spoon restaurant? Bingo, you've found it!
You dont need to walk a lot and spare your coins for the bus - everything is in walking distance... But this is the only advantage - the staff is friendly but can't make it forget that the building would deserve some restoration...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent one evening in Dublin over the St Paddys day weekend and as we booked late we expected to struggle to find reasonable accommodation, so we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we were greeted by the 'Director of First Impressions' at reception, the hotel has a lovely friendly vibe. The location is quite central, although Dublin is not too large, so we walked everywhere.
We booked a double room. The view was of a double storey carpark but that wasn't important to us as we were never planning to spend much time in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the complimentary Irish breakfast was plentiful. There was a bit of a hole in the wall near the tv and some cords hanging messily, but it didn't look dangerous.
There are two computers in the common area with complimentary internet access and there is wifi in certain areas but we didn't try to access it.
All in all, great service and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The reception was friendly and helpful despite our late arrival (almost midnight). We requested a triple room with no carpets and that's what we got.... admittedly not the cleaniest room I've ever slept in but excellent value for money and full of foreigners from all over enjoyng their super breakfast!
Unfortunately there was no room on our return and we ended up in a dump across the road.... so I recommend you book in advance.

Room Tip: they also have rooms with no carpets which personally I find more hygenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giacomina63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have visited Dublin many times so I know it's not easy to find reasonable accomodation, until we stayed at The Townhouse.. The interior is gorgeous, staff are friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast is very good.. Its central location is an added bonus, everywhere in the city centre is just a short walk away.. will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oldrin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#65 of 151 in Dublin
415 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
645 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#82 of 151 in Dublin
1,163 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing