We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is location”
Review of Beresford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beresford Hotel
Ranked #99 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Very old hotel, lot of maintenance needed. The WC was broken. Very noisy place, day and night coming from the trams, the train and bus station. The only good thing it's very well located and staff was friendly. I wouldn't recommend to pay the hotel breakfast, lots of good restaurants around.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaChevalier, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Beresford Hotel and for highlighting our great location and friendly staff.
We take our guests feedback on board and use it to improve our services and facilities.
We are very sorry to hear that your overall experience with us was impacted by the noise level, however due to our central location with various transport options right out of the door it is extremely convenient to move easily around the centre of Dublin.
We also have rooms facing the courtyard and knowing that your stay was impacted by the noise, we would have offered alternative option.
Hopefully on your next visit you will get the opportunity to try our delicious all you can eat full Irish and continental breakfast is served in the restaurant at the discounted price for residents of 10 euro per person, it includes Hot & Cold buffet, selection of fresh fruits, juices and much more.
We look forward to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

The WORST bed and WORST night's sleep I've ever had! Appalling! The bed was SOOooo bad - more like a truckle bed with a plastic mattress than a hotel bed - that I couldn't get comfortable even lying on the 2nd duvet over BOTH decorative quilted runners. I spent more time awake than asleep which left me so tired in the morning that it made working really hard.
And then, in the morning, I found that the shower was FIXED at lukewarm! So I couldn't even wake myself up after one of the worst night's sleep of my life - and they charged me over £200 for the pleasure. I've never known the like. What is the point of having a nicely decorated reception area if the bed is so cheap and nasty you can't sleep in it and the shower fixed so you can't have a decent shower.
How stingy and what a rip off!
AND - with regard to Booking.com - I found that the hotel had printed out my FULL credit card details, including name, full number, expiry date AND CCV. Is this even legal?
I will NEVER book through Booking.com ever again if you are going to send around my credit card details so freely.
I have posted my comments about The Beresford Hotel on their FB page and am about to post the same on Trip Advisor. No one should have to pay SO much over the odds for a bed that would be bad even in a £20 a night hostel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. I ignored other travellers' warnings; please don't do the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaChevalier, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Carole S,
We welcome all feedback whether positive or negative as it helps us to make sure we are meeting our guests’ preferences. We are obviously disappointed that your experience at the Beresford Hotel did not fulfil your expectations.
I am sorry to hear that the room failed your expectations and your comments are passed on to relevant Department Managers, as we are always looking to improve our overall service and Guest satisfactory.
Our orthopaedic mattresses are up to standard in every hotel room, and they are replaced when required ensuring that all our guests will have a comfortable rest.
Our reception is operating 24h and knowing that the water temperature was not hot enough for you to have a shower, we would have certainly taken immediate action.
Our rates are influenced by both the availability of rooms of the hotel as well as other factors (i.e. local events, congresses, holidays, periodicity, etc.), hence, they fluctuate accordingly. Rates are updated in real time and displayed online for guests to book, should they choose to.
We sincerely hope you will give us opportunity to welcome you back at the Beresford Hotel and restore your faith in our Hotel.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived late evening. Enquired when breakfast was served as I had a 06:30 start next morning. Too early for my prepaid hot breakfast so reception took a note to provide a "grab bag". They told me it would have breakfast items like croissant, cereal, piece of fruit and drink.
Arrived at reception next morning and was given a bag with bottle of water, cheese and ham sandwich, apple and small muffin. I ask for my breakfast payment to be refunded as this was not breakfast but they declined.
Euro180 single room, cold with no functioning heater, outdated decor and thin walls. Was woken at 01:30 am by next door arriving in and talking loudly.
Disappointing result by Beresford hotel . I will give my future business bookings elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaChevalier, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We welcome all feedback whether positive or negative as it helps us to make sure we are meeting our guests’ preferences. We are obviously disappointed that your experience at the Beresford Hotel did not fulfill your expectations.
Breakfast is served in the Hotel from 7-10am daily and during the weekend from 8-11am and we provide selection of Full Irish and continental breakfast. Due to request for take away breakfast, we did our best to accommodate your request and prepared food which is suitable for take away.
Our take away breakfast consists: bottle of water, sandwich, fruit and pastry.
The breakfast was pre- booked with the accommodation at a discounted price and therefore it was non-refundable.
We sincerely hope you will give us opportunity to welcome you back at the Beresford Hotel and restore your faith in our Hotel.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in early October 2017, our room was very small and outdated. The mattresses were thinking and uncomfortable, as if from years of use. The room was warm so we opened the window just in time for the train to go but just outside the window. We asked to change rooms and they were booked ,but we were blamed for not asking for a quite room. I never would have thought to ask for quite room before.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It feels like just a step above a hostel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaChevalier, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We welcome all feedback whether positive or negative as it helps us to make sure we are meeting our guests’ preferences. We are obviously disappointed that your experience at the Beresford Hotel did not fulfill your expectations.
Due to our central location some of our rooms may be impacted by noise during the day. Unfortunately we were at 100% occupancy on that day due to the last minute bookings, and we were unable to accommodate you request.
I hope you will give us opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in our Hotel.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Chosen because of the location to the heart of the City, pubs, things to do, restaurants, tours, and being next to a light rail and bus. It was quite, clean, good service, and a solid place for a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdhcch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaChevalier, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Beresford Hotel and for highlighting our location as well as our clean rooms and good service.
The hotel is very well located in the centre of Dublin City and the many modes of transport are right out of the door and it is extremely convenient to move easily around the centre of Dublin.
We are really looking forward to welcome you back at the Beresford Hotel in near future for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 152 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,790 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Hotel

Address: Store St, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 4,836 - ₹ 17,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresford Hotel is a superb hotel in the very heart of Dublin City Centre. Overlooking the magnificent Custom House, Beresford Hotel is the perfect location for anyone who wants the city on their doorstep just minutes from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar and opposite the Bus, Luas and Train stations. The O2 Arena, Croke Park and a host of tourist attractions as well as Restaurants, Bars and Shops are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Aviva Stadium, Dublin Mountains and sandy beaches are a short train ride away. So whether you are looking for a city break to Dublin, are attending a special event or fancy a shopping trip to the city, stay with Beresford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing