We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location and friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor House Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor House Dublin
Ranked #26 of 164 Dublin B&B and Inns
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Good location and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here whilst attending the Ireland Scotland rugby game 9-11 March 2012. Expected the prices to be high as a result of Dublin being busy this weekend. Booked a triple room online for 3 guys - 348 Euros for two nights which included 2 free breakfasts per day - strange that it wasn't 3 free breakfasts but a maximum of 2 free breakfasts was made clear on their website.

The hotel is well located, about 5 mins walk from O'Connell Street, just by the bus station and easy walking distance to plenty of pubs and eateries. Our room (14) was a triple (double bed and a single bed) with an ensuite. Smallish but clean room which was quiet and adequate although the wifi signal did not reach the room - we had to go to the sitting room or dining room to get the signal but it did work well. Breakfast room was quite small for the number of rooms in the place. On both mornings we had to wait to get a table, but no more than 10 minutes. We later saw that we were meant to book a time for brekkie so perhaps we were to blame. Decent range of food and the cooked breakfast was tasty with plenty of toast and hot drinks.

All the staff were very friendly and amenable at all hours. We were able to leave our luggage once we checked out in a locked room and they booked a taxi for us to the airport (18-20 Euros each way).The 747 airlink bus goes to the nearby bus station so this might be a better option for some.

Overall, given how busy Dublin was this weekend we were happy with our choice of accommodation. It was a bit pricey for what it was but Dublin in general is relatively expensive. We had a great weekend and would consider staying here again when Scotland are next at the Aviva stadium.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    265
    110
    43
    18
See reviews for
103
242
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cannock, staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Me and my partner have just come back from a 2 night stay here,it was absolutly fab for what we wanted!
The Staff were very friendly, we couldnt check in as we were quite early so let us leave our bags there and we wondered off for the morning.
Location is brilliant! 5 minute walk to o'connell street and about 10 minutes to Temple bar.
The Room itself was a little bit run down and could do with a bit of TLC, but otherwise it was very clean and did the job, tv didnt work and the shower was quite small but nothing major,
Great price for location and standard, would deffinatly return here and recommend to anybody travelling on a budget!!

Room Tip: Book direct with website to get free breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaaarlottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

just returned from 6 nights in Dublin stayed at this lovely home away from home thanks to the fantastic staff Joan and Gerry and of course the little Tim who was a wonderful helpfull young man. He even played a piano for us..thats a service.
location is hard to beat right in middle of action walking distance to most attraction including tour operators, bus to the airport stoppes just in front of anchor house, full complimentary breakfast, wifi in the entire place not to mention the offordable price.
the room, bathroom are clean, shower working fine.
over all a nice stay at anchor house...thanks Joan, Gerry and all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at the Anchor House for 3 nights with my boyfriend and I would recommend this B&B to anyone! The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The bathroom was clean with a great shower, and tea amenities were included. The location was fantastic, walking distance to the city center, grocery stores, restaurants and pubs. They have free wi-fi with a great connection, a large sitting room with a nice fireplace and a large dinning room for breakfast. The only negative things I have to say about this place are that you have to turn in your key every time you leave the guest house which proved annoying for us and the staff, and that you may not be able to check in as early as advertised, but they do allow you to drop off your luggage in a room behind the front desk. But overall, out of all of the places I've stayed in Dublin, this was the best!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank positivejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Owners Joan and Gerry Coyne are most welcoming, Greta and other staff both friendly and effective. Not luxurious, but good by any standard, EXCELLENT for the price/location combination. Great sitting room with open fire. Good full breakfast, good WiFi as advertised. Use the B&B's own website anchorhousedublin.com for special offers and useful practical information. The few reviewers making quite negative comments must have been seeking a luxury establishment. TIPS: 1. Nearby pub The Oval Bar, 78 Middle Abbey St, just west of O'Connell St, offers good to excellent light meals. 2. McNeill's Pub, 140 Capel St, 10-15 minute walk west of Oval Bar, has uncompromised traditional music starting at 9:30 pm on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the purpose-built rear addition. Room and bed comfortable. One squeaky hinge was fixed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Another_Over_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
North City Centre
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#95 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Adelphi Guesthouse
Adelphi Guesthouse
#94 of 164 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 164 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Property: Anchor House Dublin
Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,808 - ₹ 12,894
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing