We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Nearby Hotels
US$ 158
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
US$ 158
US$ 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 357
US$ 273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 181
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 183
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 267
US$ 218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 233
US$ 210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 191
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Conrad Dublin(Dublin)
US$ 433
US$ 389
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,009)
Filter reviews
3,009 results
Traveller rating
1,916
719
249
78
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,916
719
249
78
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrafton streetcitron restaurantgreat locationst stephensconcierge stafffive star hotelstephen's greenturn down serviceexcellent hotelmini barcentral locationhotel bartrinity collegethorntonsirelandpatrickdoorman
Filter
Updating list...
2,028 - 2,033 of 3,009 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is updated and the rooms are modern and clean but I found that the staff was either friendly or somewhat distant. There was a really nice gentleman working the desk at check-in, but on another occasion there was an unsmiley and uninformative front desk lady. Also, the breakfast buffet advertised was available one morning, but not for the other 2 nights we stayed. We had to order au la carte so didn't have much to select from.

Overall, rate paid was reasonable and the rooms were clean, but I probably wouldn't go back due to the inconsistencies.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Wendy5o4,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistencies you found both in our service & procedures
Understandably this has detracted from your overall experience.

I would be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure that any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I booked this hotel for 2 nights for myself and my friend as it was her 50th birthday. I have to say from start to finish our experience was first class. The hotel arranged some birthday treats for her which was totally unexpected and made her day as due to family circumstances she rarely gets a break away.
All the staff from front desk to concierge toi cleaning staff were excellent and so polite and kind and totally sincere. Our twin room was one of the best I have stayed in in the UK. It had everything and more that you could possibly want. The bathroom was a great size with good power shower and very big bath- great for relaxing. We had a quiet room overlooking the courtyard which suited us fine. The breakfast was also one of the best I have ever had and it simply had everything you could possibly want. The location was ideal opposite St Stephens park and very close to all the shops.
I would not hestitate to recommend this hotel and in fact hope to return one day with my husband and would not even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear cazleeds,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted that you have taken the time to provide feedback on this most enjoyable stay with us.
I am happy to hear that the quality of our food & service provided a great memory and assure your that this will be passed on to those concerned.
We look forward to welcoming many guests who you will hopefully direct our way. Hopefully you will return shortly with your husband.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Perfect location, professional and fun staff, quality accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyrano1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear cyrano 1950

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us on tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and take heart from the positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the service levels we have provided.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Despite the negative title for this review, I don’t wish to put people off staying here. There is a lot going for it.

I’d stayed here regularly a few years ago, and loved it. I’d become familiar with the different room types, so was very specific when I made the latest booking (by phone): an executive room with a queen bed (not one of those hateful zip-links), overlooking the courtyard, and definitely not on the smoking floor (fifth). I mentioned that I’d been offered upgrades to front-facing rooms in the past but had always turned them down, preferring the quietness of the courtyard-facing rooms. Although the rooms overlooking St Stephen’s Green are generally bigger and have great views, they suffer from street noise and the sounds emanating from the nightclubs below. It was all confirmed in writing. However, when we checked in, we were given a room at the front! We hoped that keeping the window shut would keep out the noise, but it was not to be. Unable to sleep, we contacted reception. We were offered a room on the fifth floor, so that was no good. Next came the sixth floor. The lift doesn’t go this far, so you have the use the stairs. These rooms are tiny, with less storage space and a sloping ceiling. They feel crammed with furniture and claustrophobic. We were then offered a room on the second floor; perfect (exactly what I’d originally asked for) but for the zip-link bed. The concierge, Bob, agreed to swap the bed if we didn’t mind staying up a bit longer. We were happy to do that, but then the duty manager told us it wasn’t possible (I won’t bore you with the details). We were finally offered 350 – a bigger room with a queen bed, and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. But there was a catch: it had been promised to someone arriving the next day and we’d have to move again! We decided to check out the following morning and move to our favourite Dublin B&B: Ariel House in Ballsbridge. Miraculously, they had a room at short notice.

And so to the positives.

The location is fantastic (take the opportunity to walk down Grafton Street before the crowds arrive). The staff are friendly and helpful. Most of the rooms – notably the smaller, executive, rooms overlooking the courtyard – are very well designed. A wall of wardrobes and cupboards divides the bedroom from a small hallway. You can put suitcases and shoes here, leaving the bedroom uncluttered. There’s a CD player (with a speaker in the bathroom, although you can switch that feed off). The bathroom is wonderful, with dimmable lights, a huge bath (with a drencher shower over) and tealights (a lovely touch). The beds are comfortable. Although room 350 (for example) is bigger, I didn’t like the design: the door opens straight into the room – not great if housekeeping knocks and enters without waiting for a reply (although it didn’t happen on this occasion)! The food in the Citron restaurant (which has a balcony overlooking reception) is superb; the service is attentive without being intrusive. (While eating there, we were entertained by loud Americans practising their golf-swing in the foyer!) There’s parking in the basement (just 10 euros for 24 hours) and you can take the lift straight from there to your floor. We enjoyed spending time sitting at the bar. The cocktail menu is excellent, and the staff are chatty (if you want them to be). WiFi is complimentary.

Room Tip: * Courtyard-facing executive rooms are well designed and quiet * Front-facing rooms suffer from street noise and nightclub noise * Avoid the sixth floor - rooms feel cramped and air-con is noisy * The fifth floor is the smoking floor * Some rooms have zip-link beds (specify if you don't like those)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enigmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Enigmatist,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location, decor, style, quality of food in Citron and the friendly service.

Whilst from your review I understand that you had a number of inconveniences with your both your room type & the street noise. I can guarantee you that in future when you have written confimation about your specific requests that this will be acted upon

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect return visit.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It's less than a five minute walk to the National Museum, the Museum of Natural History (which was an enormous hit with the kids) and Phoenix Park, which is lovely to walk through and has a great play ground, and just minutes away from the main shopping and dining area. It's wonderful to be so near all these things, but not have the noise and the ruckus of the pubs. The hotel really knows how to take care of kids. And the staff went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and point us in the right direction. We'll certainly go again next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us on tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and take heart from the positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the service levels we have provided.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Guest_Relations_Fitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews