We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog Bodies”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The location of this hotel is outstanding. As other people have pointed out, it is close to St. Stephens Green, Trinity College and Grafton Street. However, it is also right across he street from the National Museum of Ireland where, for no cost, you can view the bodies of people dating back 2,300 years recovered from peat bogs. Don't miss it!

The downstairs pub had good food and was quiet at night.

The only downside to the hotel was a malfunctioning shower that cycled between hot and cold water.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room with the shower problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our location convenient with a good array of amenities close by.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,238 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

This boutique hotel is located just blocks from St. Stephens Green and a short walk from Trinity College and shopping on Grafton Street. This location makes it an excellent place for easy access to these sites, as well as easy access to the hop-on-hop-off and city bus services. The hotel is pretty, and the staff is top notch. The rooms are small but clean comfortable. Free wifi service is available but requires free registration with the service provider and an access code that can be acquired at the front desk. Signal strength was week but functional, at least in our room. I would suppose this is due to the thick walls in the building. Regardless it worked fine and we enjoyed our stay very much. The food was good at the hotel restaurant as well.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room facing the font if you care about the view. Ours faced an adjacent rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Buswells Hotel & would like to thank you for your kind feedback about the hotel & our friendly team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here recently and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the rooms and the breakfast the following morning. It is good value for the location and the staff were friendly.

If you are booking with the hotel directly, ask them to do a little better on the room rate - it might work! They offer free parking also.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yobwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you ILovePassportStamps for posting your review following your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the location and facilities of Buswells Hotel.
If you ever return to Dublin we would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Following the advice of contributors to the Dublin Forum, I booked a room at Buswells. I had been forewarned that rooms at older hotels in central Dublin tend to be small, so I was not surprised by the limited space in my single room. The bathroom, in contrast, was quite large and stylish. When I return to Dublin, I will definitely stay at Buswells again. The entire establishment exudes charm--it's a hotel with real personality. Everyone I came into contact with went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I did have some ongoing trouble getting a wifi connection for my ipad, but one of the people at the front desk spent 20 minutes helping me get it to work.

Another plus is the location. St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street (shopping), Trinity College, and Temple Bar are all within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is right in the middle of everything--but on a quiet side street. I left my window open at night (the heating was a bit strong) and was not disturbed at all. Buswell's may not be as elegant as some more expensive hotels in the area, but it offers its own sense of style at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balibeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Bailibeachboy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Buswells Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Buswells Hotel & would like to thank you for your kind feedback about the hotel & our friendly team.
Thanks again for your comments and hope we will see you again in Dublin soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Having compared a few hotels in this vicinity I would recommend this place. staff were extremely friendly and helpful on arrival. Rooms a little old style but in keeping with the building and very clean and comfortable. Also free wifi access.
Overall better value than some nearby competitors and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Snaz72,
Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. I am glad to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We get alot of extremely positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff and we take great pride in this.
Should you wish to return to the hotel in the future please feel free to contact the hotel reservations team to arrange a booking, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
0.4 km away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.3 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
0.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 10,696 - ₹ 16,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing