We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location & Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
lisburn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed for one night on a Saturday; check-in very smooth (Mary), Room smallish but very clean & comfortable bed. Breakfast is always very good with a great selection of Buffet foods + a cooked Breakfast to order; the location is first class - all in all, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear aefb,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and made use of the location and facilities of Buswells Hotel.

If you ever return to Dublin we would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    511
    140
    33
    14
See reviews for
284
569
83
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Most people don't read reviews for a hotel based on the restaurant in the hotel. But that's what I'm going to lead off with because of the curmudgeonly "waitresses" at breakfast.

Sure, it's a complimentary breakfast. But can you say grumpy? Irritable? Temperamental? Maniacal? That describes the waitresses serving this complimentary breakfast.

I went with a few friends recently, and it's "seat-yourself" as you walk in. On one morning, after my friend sat at a nearby table, the curmudgeonly waitress told her, "No, you'll sit here." That is a direct quote.

On another morning, who knows, maybe she was overwhelmed by the fact that there were a total of FOUR tables seated, but when another friend of mine was eating his omelette, because the other people at his table were done eating, the waitress went to take his plate. He asked the waitress if she could leave his plate, as he wasn't yet finished, and she simply stated, "No."

Maybe they were understaffed the entire week we were there, or maybe they're not paid enough. But I had never seen such a display of outright hostility.

The guest rooms are fine, the front desk staff are very nice, and the location is good, but unless you want to be treated with absolute contempt just for eating breakfast, if you stay at the Buswells, do NOT eat at this restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street tend to get a lot of street noise, so I'd recommend asking for a room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Todd D,
Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us recently. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay. What you have described is certainly not our normal standard.
All comments we receive from guests we build upon to improve our product & service. I assure you that the comments and issues you have raised, will be dealt with in the appropriate manner.

Should you wish to discuss your issues further please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent four nights in March at Buswell's and we were very happy with the location and the hotel. Setup is a little odd - took the elevator up to the second floor and then went down a flight of stairs to get to the rooms, but not difficult unless you have terribly heavy location. The rooms were comfortable, the windows opened and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. They let us leave our big bags while we went out on a tour of the west coast and then helped us naviagate to the airport through the St. Patrick's Day parade. Quick walk to Trinity College, Stephen's Green and Temple Bar area. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you Debra007. I really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a good time and really enjoyed your stay in Dublin.

I look forward to hopefully seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I spent one night in March 2012 in Buswells Hotel. We were well pleased with the experience. The room and ensuite were good size, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is just next to government buildings and close to Stephens Green and Grafton Street.
We would come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Onwards,

I really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy that you had a good time and really enjoyed your stay in Dublin.

I look forward to hopefully seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
340 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

stayed for 3 nights in March for business and paid about 86 euro a night including continental breakfast. great location, right off the corner opposite national museum and leinster. took aircoach from airport and got off kildare street then 1 minute walk, the bus stop is directly opposite the hotel, return ticket 14 euro. check in at 1400 and been told the room won't be ready for another 30 minutes, and i should have a walkabout; they said they can keep my luggage and have it in the room when the room is ready, inconvenient but nevermind, i wandered to dawson street and have lunch, still carrying my handbag and laptop and valuable stuffs that i didn't want to leave in reception. went back after lunch and went up to my room, to my pleasant surprise, the room was bigger than usual, with two big windows looking out to molesworth street, plenty of light. the room was clean and smell fresh, have a big safe inside wardrobe big enough to put the laptop in, have flatscreen tv but only 18 channels, have tea coffee making facilities, hairdryer, toiletry was nicely presented with soap shampoo shower gel and body lotion, shower cap. also have trouser press. unfortunately no fridge. internet was free but need to get a new code everyday so that was very inconvenient. the connection was inconsistent, first night it was superfast, then next night it kept cutting off, not good when i was talking on skype; the third night it kept cutting off again then code expired, it was midnight and i was in pyjama, frustrated but couldn't be bother to go to reception and asked for a new code, the connection was crapped anyway. reception and restaurant staff were friendly and personable. room decor was very dated and would do with a freshen up. decor style was more of a conventional one but suit well with the building style. breakfast buffet was bad, not much choice, may add a few more euro to get the irish cooked breakfast but i need to lose weight so sticked to continental healthy option. the bathroom over the sink light was not working, hot water took a while to heat up, need to run the shower for a minute or two before jumping in. the water stopper in wash basin was missing, although there is a black plastic plug provided, small objects such as jewellery or make up item could easily fell into the big dirty hole in the middle of the sink, there was nothing to stop them, so i use the black plastic plug to half plug in just to form a barrier to stop thing dropping into the drain. awkward. bathroom design was also poor, have undefined corner that was no use, yet not enough surface space to put makeup bag or even hooks to hang towel near the shower. providing some sort of shelf in the empty awkward corner next to wash basin would do the trick, i had to put my makeup bag on the flush tank over toilet, disgusting. acoustic was poor, could hear alarm gone off from parking car along the street every night. also there was a water pipe going through the corner of the room and when room upstair used the shower, water sound really loud in the room. however, apart from all these defects, the bed was very comfortable, the hotel was good overall and i will stay again just for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you Rebecca M for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay at Buswells Hotel.

All comments are important to us as it enables us to improve on our product & service that we offer. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,381 - ₹ 15,607
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing