We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location for Dublin centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coleraine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location for Dublin centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I spent one night in March 2012 in Buswells Hotel. We were well pleased with the experience. The room and ensuite were good size, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is just next to government buildings and close to Stephens Green and Grafton Street.
We would come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Onwards,

I really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy that you had a good time and really enjoyed your stay in Dublin.

I look forward to hopefully seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    506
    138
    33
    14
See reviews for
277
561
79
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
330 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

stayed for 3 nights in March for business and paid about 86 euro a night including continental breakfast. great location, right off the corner opposite national museum and leinster. took aircoach from airport and got off kildare street then 1 minute walk, the bus stop is directly opposite the hotel, return ticket 14 euro. check in at 1400 and been told the room won't be ready for another 30 minutes, and i should have a walkabout; they said they can keep my luggage and have it in the room when the room is ready, inconvenient but nevermind, i wandered to dawson street and have lunch, still carrying my handbag and laptop and valuable stuffs that i didn't want to leave in reception. went back after lunch and went up to my room, to my pleasant surprise, the room was bigger than usual, with two big windows looking out to molesworth street, plenty of light. the room was clean and smell fresh, have a big safe inside wardrobe big enough to put the laptop in, have flatscreen tv but only 18 channels, have tea coffee making facilities, hairdryer, toiletry was nicely presented with soap shampoo shower gel and body lotion, shower cap. also have trouser press. unfortunately no fridge. internet was free but need to get a new code everyday so that was very inconvenient. the connection was inconsistent, first night it was superfast, then next night it kept cutting off, not good when i was talking on skype; the third night it kept cutting off again then code expired, it was midnight and i was in pyjama, frustrated but couldn't be bother to go to reception and asked for a new code, the connection was crapped anyway. reception and restaurant staff were friendly and personable. room decor was very dated and would do with a freshen up. decor style was more of a conventional one but suit well with the building style. breakfast buffet was bad, not much choice, may add a few more euro to get the irish cooked breakfast but i need to lose weight so sticked to continental healthy option. the bathroom over the sink light was not working, hot water took a while to heat up, need to run the shower for a minute or two before jumping in. the water stopper in wash basin was missing, although there is a black plastic plug provided, small objects such as jewellery or make up item could easily fell into the big dirty hole in the middle of the sink, there was nothing to stop them, so i use the black plastic plug to half plug in just to form a barrier to stop thing dropping into the drain. awkward. bathroom design was also poor, have undefined corner that was no use, yet not enough surface space to put makeup bag or even hooks to hang towel near the shower. providing some sort of shelf in the empty awkward corner next to wash basin would do the trick, i had to put my makeup bag on the flush tank over toilet, disgusting. acoustic was poor, could hear alarm gone off from parking car along the street every night. also there was a water pipe going through the corner of the room and when room upstair used the shower, water sound really loud in the room. however, apart from all these defects, the bed was very comfortable, the hotel was good overall and i will stay again just for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you Rebecca M for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay at Buswells Hotel.

All comments are important to us as it enables us to improve on our product & service that we offer. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

If your looking for a classy hotel with a great staff and central location, then look no further. My DW and I thought that our stay at Buswell's was just grand. Vicky at the front desk could not have been any more attentive and helpful. The staff as a whole were top-notch. The hotel couldn't be in a better location, two blocks from Grafton Street, three from Temple Bar, and across the street from some of the most beautiful government buildings in the city. We will make all our future stays in Dublin at The Buswell's.

Room Tip: unlike a lot of european hotels, the rooms are big and they have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princephiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you princephiphi for your wonderful feeback following your recent stay at Buswells Hotel.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and made use of the location and facilities of Buswells Hotel. If you ever return to Dublin we would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I thought Buswells was a great hotel! I disagree with those who question it's price, as it's got a phenomenal location and is quite clean and nice!

The staff was wonderful! They were always eager to help us out and give us their input. They were MORE than willing to accommodate us with a check out that was a little bit later than the posted time, due to the time of our later flight. Even with the Saint Patrick's crowd, they never neglected us or brushed our questions off! Upon check out, there was a billing discrepancy that I brought to the attention of the staff, and they were more than willing to investigate and get it straightened out! I can safely say out of all of the hotels I've stayed at that I can remember since I've been a "grown up", Buswells has had BY FAR the absolute BEST customer service!

The room was quite nice and comfortable. The bathroom in our room was actually quite modern as well, despite what a previous review said!

All in all, we had a lovely experience and if we go to Dublin again, we would have no problem staying at Buswells.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaBeAnIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear AngelaMichelle1979,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Buswells Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you found our staff wonderful. We get alot of extremely positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff and we take great pride in this.

Should you wish to return to the hotel in the future please feel free to contact the hotel reservations team to arrange a booking, and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was not a bad experience by any means. The hotel is clean, old obviously, but there were a few problems. Funny thing is the bathrooms, completely outdated and not modernized at all, have several negative comments on booking.com. I had the same problem and pointed it out upon checkout, the woman looked at me as if this was the first time she heard this???? ah come on I said you have several comments on the site stating the same problem. Immediately she said yes we do, but the building is old. First she looks surprised and in a half a second she caves??????????????????? The breakfast was extortionatly priced even by Irish standards, as was the bar. Our bar bill for 2 people was the same price as the hotel bill. The service in the same bar was shocking, I had to track down bartenders. They were out of stock, ie cream. No Irish coffee's to be had. We went just down the street to Carluccio's for breakfast, not cheap either but fabulous, certainly better than here. Parking, there is none, well if you check in after 6pm and out before 8am they will comp a nearby multi story parking lot. I checked in at 3pm and out at noon, parking cost me 30 Euro and that was after he took off the overnight charge the hotel would cover. Also there were very drunk guests screaming and laughing in the hall outside my room at 3am. Did management appear? No. Did they apologise when I pointed this out? No. Will I be back. Never.

Room Tip: dont stay here, thats a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buswellsmanager, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear sandraorourkeglynn,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. I was very disappointed to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations. We have recently started some refurbishment within the Hotel and although we are not a modern hotel we do maintain our facilities to a high standard.

With regards the Breakfast we have reduced our Breakfast cost from €17 to €10 as a special rate to all residents, this price includes both the continental & the Full Irish. Unfortunately Buswells Hotel has no carpark due to our City Centre location so we offer guest complimentary overnight parking (from 5.30pm-9.30am).

All comments we receive from guests we build upon to improve our product & service. I assure you that your comments and issues that you have raised will be dealt with in the appropriate manner.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,344 - ₹ 15,185
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing