We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to high expectations!!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lived up to high expectations!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

No wonder this hotel is ranked as the No 1 hotel on TripAdvisor for Dublin, it deserves to be!
The hotel is a gorgeous building in a great location.
The service I received was excellent- concierge, check in, restaurant- all fantastic but not OTT or fake.
Pool was great, gym sufficient if a little small but does the job if you are after a quick workout!
The Spa was a little tricky to get booked into as there were very limited appointment times available but the treatment I had was excellent.
Room was spacious and comfortable, I was surprised there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but realised the next day you just had to call reception to request this and it would be supplied complimentary- I was only there for one night though so by the time I realised this it was time to check out!
Breakfast was good, although I would say there was not a huge choice included in the continental breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Check prices on Expedia- I got a really good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrysmumuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear harrysmumuk,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,696
    389
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
590
1,633
103
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Merrion is a gorgeous old hotel property in the City of Dublin. The drawing rooms and bedrooms were gorgeous, reminiscent to me of the old Ritz Carlton in Boston. High tea ( it looked amazing) is served daily,there is a warm and wonderful bar, and adjacent restaurant. For less formal fare try one of the pubs around the corner, very walkable. The architectural details of the property and gardens were a joy to behold for this designer/ traveler. The turn down service was incomparable...a special thank you to our maid who was from Brazil. She did a wonderful service for us, with attention to every detail one would require at bedtime! The carrera marble bathroom was sumptuous and the soaking tub was divine. Although full of guests, the garden was quiet and birdsong filled the air. The flowers were specimens, and the trees manicured and all seemed very happily growing together in this fair city. It was grand-like! My only negative was our massages. We, by accident booked a short and perfunctory "back and shoulder rub" instead of a full body, and it left us wanting more. Go for the full massage. The Spa changing area was small, and no private resting area for men and women...and without the usual lounges and blankets, soft music, etc found in most spas. You just kind of "wait" in an upright chair near the spa check in area, in your robe, next to people in street clothes. Felt a bit odd. For such a grand hotel, I would recommend creating a resting area that is private and more Spa-like. Otherwise, we were thrilled with the Merrion! And highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear jgolberg,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

Thank you also for your feedback about the Tethra Spa. I am very aware of that feeling of space in the Tethra Spa. But rest assured that if and when the opportunity arises this will be addressed as it has been to the forefront of our minds for some time.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A very comfortable, if slightly austere, hotel. We were here for three nights on a bed and breakfast rate and the service and quality of food at breakfast was without fault.

We stayed in a front facing suite overlooking the main road and there was some slight early morning noise from the passing traffic.

Just an additional point. My husband (who is the most rational and down to earth person) swore he saw a ghost wandering around our bedroom during the night - however this wouldn't put us off stopping here again though!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Dazzlers,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team here. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Rooms were very nice. Not geared for business travellers, better for romantic or quiet stays. Swimming pool is nice. General atmosphere is very relaxed. Recommended

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stalisfield28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Stalisfield28,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Fabulous dining experience in the Cellar Restaurant, Merrion Hotel, Dublin. First time in the restaurant for lunch to day 7th June 2012. The Cellar is in a great location and part of the Merrion Hotel. The staff were really friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food was lovely and the wine complimented the lunch very nicely. The price was reasonable and we would hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear unigis1,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the Cellar Restaurant and I have shared them with both the Restaurant and Kitchen teams and they say a very big “thank you” as well.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,121 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.6 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.3 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Property: The Merrion Hotel
Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,391 - ₹ 45,105
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing