We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I would recommend this hotel. The staff were excellent on customer service and the overall experience was fantastic.
If I was to be picky I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities automatically placed in our room without having to ask for them and also for the standard of the hotel I was surprised not to have an iron or ironing board.
But my lasting memory is fantastic city, good times, great food and make sure you visit Temple Bar at night to experience the fantastic bands that are playing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,855 - 2,859 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

My son and I stayed at the Merrion in Dublin, November of 2011 for
the second time. The ambience, the attention to detail was the same.
They have several plush lounges where you are served food and drink
24 hrs. a day. The servers are great.They and the front desk people make you feel like royalty. There is a quiet, genteel feeling in the lounges where there is never any rudeness, but instead a feeling
of aristocracy without being pretentious. I would highly recommend this establishment above any other hotel in Ireland. Right next door is
the excellent restaurant, Pearl Brasserie. It's also close to St. Stephen's Green for excellent shopping.

Room Tip: You can ask for an upgrade superior room which you may be able to get at the same rate as the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Top Hotel with a great location for the City Centre. Gourmet food excelllent (about Euros140 per head with wine) but rather lacking in ambience. Cellar pub better for fun. Breakfast at Euros 30 per head not worth it. Nice spa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Traveling over 150 nights a year can make hotels all blend into one chorus of yes sir no sir and where shall we send the bill sir. Not so at The Merrion. My wife and I spent a night here on a recent, and rare, night away from it all in Dublin. Staff, to a man and woman, were excellent. The room, in the original part of the hotel, was really superb. A short walk to Grafton Street and then back for dinner. Late breakfast in the cellar and off by 12. It was the most relaxing night away we have enjoyed in ages. I have since recommended to a few business friends traveling and they have all raved about it. Excellent stuff Merrion, well done for being the best you can be, we will definitely be back for work or play.

Room Tip: Any place is good, the service is the thing that sets apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed here during an overnight business trip. I arrived after dark and left early the next morning but despite my short visit, I was impressed the the beautifically restored combination of 4 old townhouses and the attached garden wing. The public rooms and guest rooms are all very nicely layed out. I liked the private club atmosphere of the Bar 23 and the nearby drawing rooms.

I had a room in the more modern garden wing overlooking the garden area and its fountains. The room was comfortable with a modern, white marble bathroom with both a tub and shower. Free wifi was provided in the room.

The service was very attentive. I was in the Bar 23, asked for directions to the Cellar restaurant and was personally led down the hall and right to the elevator. All the service staff were equally courteous and responsive in every way.

I had dinner at the Cellar Restuarant (in an old wine cellar). Food was delicious, service great.

Walked by a beuatiful looking spa with what apeared to be a large pool.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden in the garden wing are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViewontheHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,297 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.2 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 19,363 - ₹ 54,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing