We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the potential to be excellent”
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harding Hotel
Ranked #29 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've got to be honest and say I found this hotel frustrating, it was a place that has the potential to be excellent with some investment but sadly a few things let it down which is why I only rated it a 3/5.

We got there in the evening and first impressions when we pulled up outside were very good, they still had their Christmas decorations up as it was just before New Year and it made the hotel foyer look fantastic. The staff were excellent and amongst the most friendly I've met on my travels as was the location of the hotel, so far everything was perfect until we went upstairs...

We got the lift up to the second floor where we were staying and the first thing that hit us was the strong smell of stale cigarette smoke when the elevator door opened, I'm not sure of the law in Ireland but as a non smoker it's not something you want to have to face every time you leave or return to the room.

Then there was the room, it was very basic which isn't a problem but the tv was terrible, I don't even think they make them like that any more and also there was some interference with the signal which meant you couldn't watch it for 2 seconds in every 20 which again was frustrating.

While the smell of smoke was terrible and the tv hardly ideal these were all things I could live with, however the temperature of the room on the first night was unbearable, it wasn't the radiator kicking off the heat as it wasn't turned on but the 2 inch water pipe running underneath it that went the length of the room. When you have to sleep on top of the covers with the window wide open and the fan on full in December you know something is off, the following nights the room was fine but that first night was not comfortable for either myself or my pregnant partner.

Even after all that I'd still stop here again if I was in Dublin just because I'd hope that one day they see the potential in the place and attempt to make it worthy of a 5* rating that it could get with investment, unfortunately until then it falls short.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshBoy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear WelshBoy 1980,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel after your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that there were some aspects to your stay that made it not as pleasant as either you or the Harding would wish.

To deal with your points raised - we have addressed the issue of guests smoking in rooms by making the entire building smoke free since the beginning of this year.
Previously we did have 2 floors (1st and 2nd) that guests could smoke on, but now anyone who wishes to smoke MUST do so outside the building.
We have done this to cater to the vast majority of guests who request non-smoking rooms so I would expect and hope that this issue should not be repeated.

I do apologize if the hotel's heating system made it uncomfortable for you and your partner to sleep, but as we are quite an old building the solid brickwork insulates the building very effectively whenever we do run the heating.
This winter has been unusually mild but we do run the heating to cater to all those guests who might not be as accustomed to Irish winters.

We are planning on upgrading the TV's in the hotel to flat screen style units and obviously we will work on any reception issues that may exist to ensure all guests have the chance to enjoy the channels we can offer with improved clarity and larger screens.

I am grateful that you have brought these points to our attention and that I have had the chance to answer them and update you and future guests on the situation.
I am also grateful that you highlighted the positive aspects of the Harding too in your review and appreciated the efforts of the staff and enjoyed the hotel's excellent location.
We are of course very passionate and committed to providing a high quality levels of service and standards within the hotel with a good sense of value, and feedback like yours allows us to contantly improve and work on our efforts to ensure we achieve our aims.

As you have mentioned in your review you may consider the Harding again in the future when visiting Dublin, and should you wish to email me directly at the Harding Hotel on info@hardinghotel.ie I will endeavor to ensure we accommodate you with better standards to try and improve your rating and impression of the hotel.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,243)
There are newer reviews for Harding Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,650 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed there in January with three other girls for a Birthday. We had an amazing time. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all hours. Nangirl particularly loved it.

Room Tip: We had a view of the Cathedral. Windy, but heavy curtains block it out.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear E H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I'm so glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time in Dublin and especially in the Harding.
I was especially glad to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and the location to be very convenient for all your needs.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Harding Hotel soon and that you enjoy Dublin again.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Whether your goal is hitting the Temple Bar area, touring a distillery and brewery or taking the literary pub tour, the Harding Hotel is located perfectly for all of them and more. The room was clean and well maintained, the staff was very professional and courteous and the hotel's lounge, Darkey Kelly's, was a nice little pub with many different beers on tap.
Having Christ's Church Cathedral directly across the street made it easy to navigate back to the room using the little tourist maps you find for free in advertisements.
I spent three nights there in Feb and thought the fee charged was a bargain. If I ever travel to Dublin again, I'm going to try to get another room at Harding Hotel. I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BLSteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear BLSteiner,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Harding Hotel following your recent stay when visiting Dublin.
All feedback is greatly appreciated in order for us to improve on and ensure we maintain our standards.

I was truly delighted to hear that you found the hotel's location to be so convenient for exploring Dublin city centre and visiting all the city centre shopping, cultural and social attractions so easily.
Christchurch Cathedral is a great landmark as you suggest as well as a wonderful tourist attraction and offers great charm to the Old City area which we are very fortunate to be located in.

It was great to hear that found the hotel's quality standards, staff and facilities to be in line with your expectations and that overall you found the Harding Hotel to be good value for money.
The Harding Hotel is very passionate and committed to providing the best levels of service and care we can to our guests while still offering competitive and good value rates.
Feedback like yours helps keep the Harding staff motivated towards our goals by letting them know their efforts are appreciated.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Harding Hotel in the near future, where I hope we may be able to even exceed your recent experience with us and help you find some more of Dublin's gems!!

Regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here with a sixth form party last week and can only compliment the hotel's facilities and staff who were excellent. I book this hotel every year as the value for money is excellent, the location is perfect (easy access to north or south side attractions) and the staff are very helpful; they help you in any way that they can. The hotel is easy to locate and is a great base to explore Dublin. I will use this hotel next year and would recommend it to anyone planning to visit Dublin.

Room Tip: All rooms were clean and relatively spacious. We all slept well.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777Carroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear 777Carroll,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience of the Harding Hotel after your recent visit to Dublin - it is always beneficial to receive customer feedback on the hotel's facilities, services and standards.

I am delighted to hear that you found everything to be in order and enjoyed the hotel's location and found the staff to be helpful and all rooms to be of the standards expected in terms of quality, comfort and value for money.

I would hope to be able to welcome you and your party back again to the Harding Hotel in the very near future, and it is always refreshing and rewarding to have such loyal repeat business stay with us.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The location of the Harding hotel is ideal only a few blocks from the Temple Bar neighborhood and within walking distance to many other attractions as well. We walked to St James Gate from the hotel (Guinness). There is also a really good bar across the street and Leo Burdock's fish and chips is right around the corner... The accommodations are basic and far from fancy but the price is reasonable and the location is favorable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wintervillega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Harding, General Manager at Harding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Dear wintervillega,

Thank you for the review that you posted after your stay with the Harding Hotel in 2011 - we appreciate all forms of feedback as it helps us to improve our standards and service even further.

The Harding Hotel as you say is in a wonderful location within a 15 minute walk from the majority of the main tourist attractions, the shopping areas and all other places of interest in the city centre.
We are also well serviced by all the forms of public transport in the city centre including the Airlink 747 bus service to get you to/from the airport and around the city.

I'm glad that you found the service and facilities to your standard and that you felt the hotel was good value for money, in order to give us a favorable recommendation.
I hope that we may be able to accommodate you in the near future should you return to Dublin again.

With best regards,

Jonathan Hynes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,504 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,565 - ₹ 30,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing