We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit all over the place”

Guinness Storehouse
Ranked #5 of 588 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: GUINNESS STOREHOUSE(R), Ireland's No. 1 visitor attraction is a "must see" on any visit to Dublin. Housed in an old fermentation plant in the heart of St James's Gate Brewery, the now seven-storey visitor experience tells the story of Ireland's iconic drink and beings to life the heritage of this world famous beer. Your journey begins standing at the bottom of the world's largest pint glass, which rises through the building. It is a dramatic story that begins over 250 years ago and ends in Gravity(R) Bar, Dublin's highest bar where you will receive a complimentary pint of GUINNESS(R) while enjoying spectacular views over Dublin.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We paid for the tour and walked in and they said you can follow a tour or just go on your own. Several just went on their own and it was a bit chaotic. We had the free pint and the Guinness and beef stew. Very crowded.... Can't imagine what it's like during the summer months. The bar at the top was so crowded that you couldn't really see outside unless you pushed your way to the windows. Came away with a cute t-shirt and that's about it. Wouldn't do it again.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to get in contact. At this time of year we do welcome a lot of visitors to Guinness Storehouse. We do have a plan in place to try to keep a steady flow moving through the building but nonetheless we appreciate it can  get very crowded at times. We’re sorry to hear this impacted on your visit. Thanks again for the feedback, it’s always appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to the Home of Guinness soon. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gravity bar"
in 5,776 reviews
"free pint"
in 1,712 reviews
"top floor"
in 2,098 reviews
"pour your own"
in 1,308 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2,202 reviews
"brewing process"
in 949 reviews
"black stuff"
in 1,208 reviews
"brewery tour"
in 445 reviews
"degree view of dublin"
in 413 reviews
"learn how"
in 1,021 reviews
"connoisseur experience"
in 305 reviews
"tasting room"
in 791 reviews
"learning how"
in 402 reviews
"own pace"
in 804 reviews
"gift shop"
in 1,044 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 287 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 483 reviews
Filter

2,511 - 2,515 of 38,176 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Booked on line and tickets were collected on arrival. Very easy and walked straight in. You walk round your own and read all the boards plus watch tv screens so it isn’t guided by I quite liked this as you do it at your own pace. The whole centre is set up really well and entices you in with smell, sound, sight and interactive displays and of course the promise of your ‘free’ pint of Guinness at the end. I’d say you need max of 2 hours to do this. We went at 4pm which was a great time as we ended up pulling our own pint (and you get a certificate!) and then you can take it up to the 365 degree rooftop bar. Don’t bother. It was heaving, no seats and we were exhausted after a day walking the Dublin streets so we went back down to the next level and found some seats to enjoy our pints. Great shop as you leave too. All in all an enjoyable €20 well spent and the Guinness..... it was delicious!

Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for this review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Guinness Storehouse. However with regards crowds, at this time of year we welcome lots of visitors, and as a result we do try to keep a flow moving steadily through the building. Nonetheless we appreciate it can get very crowded. Thanks again for the feedback, we really do value it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Hugely informative and goes on for ages, my only fault is that it was way too busy. If they limited the numbers of people visiting at a time it would be perfect

Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for this review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Guinness Storehouse. However with regards crowds, at this time of year we welcome lots of visitors, and as a result we do try to keep a flow moving steadily through the building. Nonetheless we appreciate it can get very crowded. Thanks again for the feedback, we really do value it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A great way to spend a few hours in Dublin. Lots to see and learn and even a chance to pull your own pint once instructed on the right way to do it. Friendly staff and a relaxing tour at your own speed.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to get in touch with us. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at the home of Guinness. I am especially happy to read how impressed you were with our staff members. Our staff are at the heart of the operation and they are who bring the amazing story of Guinness to life for our visitors. Thanks again for posting such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back to Guinness Storehouse soon! Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Didn’t really know what to expect but tour was interesting & informative albeit a little expensive, all in all tho enjoyed

Thank StephenR3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinnessStorehouse, Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. Customer feedback is very important to us, and we do take it all on board. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guinness Storehouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Guinness Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing