We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent enough for a short stay / drinking trip!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity College Campus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #72 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent enough for a short stay / drinking trip!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We'd booked this quite last minute and it was the cheapest most central place to stay in the city and included breakfast which seems to be increasingly rare in Ireland. The check in process was pretty slow, manned by students who were helpful but in no hurry, we'd also arrived after the main gate was closed and finding the accommodation office in the dark wasn't trivial. The rooms we were in were a fair distance across the campus (right next to Pearse train station) so we had to wait for the shuttle bus to show us to our room which added to the wait - we'd probably have got lost without it but it would have been quicker to walk.
The room itself was plain and simple and studenty but fine for a short stay. Where we were the rooms had a basin and then two toilet and shower rooms and a kitchen between about 6 bedrooms. Our room was quite warm but opening the window let in the noise from a busyish road. The bed was comfortable.
The showers weren't the most modern and the grouting could have done with a clean but as you'd expect for a student room.
Breakfast was served in a self service cafe and had a decent selection of cereals, croissants, toast, scones, fruit, tea and coffee.
Overall I'd say for the location it was decent value especially if you're not planning on spending much time in the room anyway. If you're after a bit of luxury it's probably not for you though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    178
    99
    34
    15
See reviews for
59
115
84
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

In a month of travelling in Europe, Trinity was a low point. Info says to go to main gate; it was locked with no alternate information. Walked a third of the way around, found a entrance, and finally found the Accomodations Office. Walked up a lot of floors (they say third floor, really fourth). Room was basic dorm, but for 100 euros, it had nothing but a couple of tiny towels and two little bars of soap. Internet was 15 euros!! Room was very noisy. Closed the window to escape the noise, and it was too hot. The next morning we were yelled at by the "Butter" cafeteria manager and treated like absolute idiots when we asked where the WC was. There was a decent looking full breakfast, but somehow we didn't qualify for it. Continental breakfast was ok--good coffee, good croissants.

If you want to sleep next door to the Book of Kells, it's a great site; also well located for nightlife. I kept trying to compare it to sleeping in a dorm at Harvard or Yale, which most of us Americans would find pretty cool, but, overall, I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMO
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed on campus at Trinity College recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was in an historic dormatory a short walk from the Book of Kells / Historic Library. The twin beds were comfortable, the bathroom spartan, and the walk up the stairs with luggage a bit strenuous. A breakfast each morning was provided in the campus cafeteria. The location was wonderful... near the shopping and activities of Central Dublin. Temple Bar / Graffton Street / the Ha'Penny Bridge / and easy transportation helped make our stay memorable. The Accomodations office was very helpful by allowing us access to a computer and printer to get our e-tickets for our flight home. Thank you, Trinity College for opening up your dormatories for tourists in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrunnermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We were told it was visiting faculty housing: it was an "old" dorm room that had mold on the ceilings, and looked like it hadn't had deep cleaning for some time. Location wise, it is superb, but for the cost, go elsewhere. We planned on staying two nights, but only stayed one (in part because of difficulty with parking - had to park off campus).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrEvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights and shared an apartment with a collegue. Pro's: beautiful campus, fun to be a college kid again, center of all the action, close to transportation, very safe, fun experience, good continental breakfast, laundry facilities, very clean, kitchen and living room. Good deal for a solo traveller and extended stays if you get the apartment. Cons: small/spartan rooms, small twin bed, small bathroom, one small towel per person, clueless (but well intentioned) staff, not good for couples, no Internet in rooms, no TV. Major warning for all you party animals: you can't bring guests in after midnight who are not residents.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank off_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Property: Trinity College Campus
Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,524 - ₹ 9,189
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing