We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In the Heart of it”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice hotel, smaller rooms, but average by EU standards. Nice folks, pleasant pub downstairs and a very short walk to the centre of what dublin is all about.....Guinness and live music.
Note that dublin central does not have a lot to do for more tha a couple days unless you wish to drown yourself in Guinness.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are more or less the same. There is a late night club on one side and unless you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    642
    262
    72
    51
See reviews for
113
668
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in Paramount Hotel in June 2012. The hotel was quite easy to get to from the airport though the hotel entrance is not at Parliament street but the next street instead.
It's conveniently located near the river, grocery shops, pizza restaurants and of course, Temple Bar is less than 5 mins' walk away.
As mentioned by several posters here, it can get noisy at night, especially if you're a very light sleeper, like me.
The first night was noisy probably because it was a Sat night, but the following two nights were not too bad so I could get some sleep.
Staff were helpful in suggesting where to go for the Irish shows and checkout was quite painless.
If you want to get to the Heuston train station, it's around 25-30mins walk with luggage. The Jervis tram stop is also a couple of streets away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verbalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Paramount is in a great location for getting around Dublin. The lobby area is fine and the bar/pub downstairs is also good. The layout of the hotel is slightly strange with lifts in different parts of the building depending on where your room is.

Two of my colleagues had rooms with windows that did not close properly and although mine did, I was on the street side and was aware of a lot of ambient noise that would disturb any light sleepers.

The size of the room was good, but it was hard to get excited about and the double bed was two single mattresses together (one of my pet hates). A nice Irish breakfast cooked to order in the morning.

I don't travel to Dublin often and if I did I would try another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this Hotel for a weekend break. Although the Hotel room was nice and clean and the location was brilliant to experience the atmosphere of Temple Bar we found the noise at night too much. Our room was 310 and unfortunately we were opposite a club/bar which stayed open until around 4am in the morning. The noise from the revellers and the taxis hooting and coming and going kept us awake most of the night. The staff were very sympathetic and offered to move us to a quieter room. We were also offered a discount on our stay. There was also a bar downstairs which could also get quite noisy. I got the impression that they were used to receiving complaints. Having said all that, the staff were good and the breakfasts were excellent..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel is located in a great area for a visit to Dublin. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very dated and the smell of smoke was very strong even after we opened the window. Breakfast was nice but the breakfast room dark.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niffer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
1,536 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#41 of 151 in Dublin
1,654 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,190 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,198 - ₹ 32,131
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing