We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old house”
Review of Huband House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huband House B&B
Ranked #107 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in this pleasant homely B&B. Very central and didn't need even a Bus.The place was very clean and comfortable and had all I needed i.e loads of hot water and good solid breakfast all laid out for us and we could help ourselves to as much as we wanted. The Lady of the house was very pleasant and knew her Dublin well. She took trouble to explain the "must see" places, which was a great help. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Huband House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

The B&B is 500 meters from the start finish line of the Dublin Marathon in a lovely quiet setting on the canal. They went out of their way for us on the Marathon weekend without a rise in the rates due to the event. The place is clean, well worn, comfortable and has free parking. If you are a prince or princess you should stay away. If you have a little experience in the world you will appreciate what you get at Huband House.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Horrible, horrible place. First: we arrived there to find out that the lady who runs the B&B does not live there. The house in fact was deserted. We found a message on the door telling to call her (!!!). We did. she had left the keys under a plant. We got the the double room in the basement. not nice. the only good thing was a comfortable bed. the rest awful. as we got in the room we immediately felt the smell of dampness. the window was open on the backyard or on the really unkept staircase of the backyard. no security. we always had the fear anybody could come in. the room was really small, there was no space at all for suitcases as we would have never dreamed of putting our clothes in that broken and smelly closet. the door of the room had a window pane with a curtain. but as nobody lives in the house the light in the corridor was left on all night and the light came in the room, disturbing the sleep.
Bathroom was the worst! Full of horrible black spiders everywhere. the spaces between tiles in the shower black with mold (gross!!!), the curtain of the shower had never been cleaned in our opinion. we had no wish of showering in there. The basin was so small we couldn't even rinse our mouth after brushing the teeth. In a B&B you would expect warmness, but this place was deserted all the time...nobody we could ask information, nothing. only a very nice girl who came there for preparing breakfast. Breakfast not that great either, nothing special, just toast and jam with coffee or tea. nothing special really. The property is completely shabby and unkept, wall paint coming off because of dampness at every corner. To us it was like a shack more than a B&B. I would NEVER dream of recommending this accomodation to anyone, for the same amount of money you can find much better places.

AVOID IT!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chiiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We knew the place wouldn't be that great when we got in a taxi and said 'Huband House please' his response was 'were the F...hell is that, i've worked on the taxi's for 20 years and never had anyone go there'.
Eventually it was found...
We Opened the door to the room (if you can all it that) to the shock of how small it was - think of your bedroom at home with a bathroom in it - both getting changed in there was a nightmare and were not large people by any means.
Sleeping that night wasn't the best - you can hear the next room and upstairs walking round - plus the bed squeaked and there was a constant dripping noise outside.
Breakfast was then an experiance - we went down to a dining table which is a door with glass on it then told the bread is in the kitchen and basically make your own....very surreal.
The place did the job as we were planning on spending as little time indoors as possible but i expected alot more for our money and it dampened our experience of Dublin.
When i return to Dublin which is a great city i will stay away for the Huband House.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickletosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The property is very run down and any work that has been done is to such a poor standard ( I do tend to go a bit OTT on this because it's my job ). So examples. We stayed in room 1. You can see people coming up the stairs outside your room with the door CLOSED. The toilet seat was loose and broken. The shower handset holder was broken. The curtains did not fit the window and being unlined kept out very little light. The TV which did work had no remote control and no way we could find to change the channel. Ther was more but you would just get bored.

As mentioned in another review, the are 5 cars in the back garden. They are the very cute Nissan Figaro. Not a good look!

The continental breakfast included in the price is more an english breakfast with the bacon and egg stage taken out. My take on a continental breakfast is fresh breads and croissants, none of these. Then with cold meats and cheeses, first day only and these had to be eaten using your fingers as no forks provided.

The lady owner is very nice, but this is not sufficient to make me want to go back or recommend the place to anyone. The price was fair but if you come all the way to Dublin for a holiday spend a bit more and don't take the edge off the whole trip.

A perfect location for rugby at Lansdowne Road.

Room Tip: Think of it as a HOSTEL not a hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buelligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
0.4 km away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.3 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,184 reviews
0.9 km away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huband House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huband House B&B

Address: 10 Warrington Place | Off Mount Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 7,947 - ₹ 9,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Huband House B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Grand Canal, Huband House is a family-run bed and breakfast with free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The RDS and The O2 Dublin are close by.Each en suite bedroom at Huband House features a TV and complimentary toiletries. A continental breakfast is provided.There is an Aircoach stop just a 5-minute walk from the guesthouse.In south Dublin city, Huband B&B is a Georgian house, close to Lansdowne Road Stadium. The bars and restaurants of the Grand Canal Dock area are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Huband House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing