We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 17.61*
and up
EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum Tour
Ranked #11 of 565 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: EPIC is a modern museum in Dublin’s Docklands that tells the moving and unforgettable story of the 10 million Irish people who left their homeland, & how they influenced and shaped the world. The world’s only fully digital museum features 1,500 years of Irish history in its atmospheric vaults. Experience this breathtaking story in interactive galleries, with a feast of powerful audio & video bringing these one-of-a-kind tales to life. Shortlisted for European Museum of the Year 2018, this top-rated, family-friendly attraction is an essential destination for everyone with an interest in Ireland’s people, culture and history. Relive some of the greatest achievements in music, literature, sport, business, politics, fashion & science. EPIC also houses the Irish Family History Centre, with a team of genealogy experts to help visitors uncover their Irish roots. Also nearby is the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship & the Famine Memorial Sculpture. Last entry is 5:00pm, museum closes at 6:45pm
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved the epic museum!! One of the best things to do when in Dublin. Highly recommend it! It combines history, culture and amazing userfriendly technology.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Erato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Erato23,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! It's great to know you really liked the interactive displays and content in general!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interactive displays"
in 78 reviews
"irish roots"
in 40 reviews
"modern technology"
in 22 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 45 reviews
"left ireland"
in 21 reviews
"irish descent"
in 26 reviews
"all ages"
in 92 reviews
"family history"
in 29 reviews
"audio guide"
in 26 reviews
"two hours"
in 46 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 42 reviews
"own pace"
in 36 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 36 reviews
"stamp"
in 173 reviews
"heritage"
in 96 reviews
"stomping"
in 60 reviews
"immigrants"
in 24 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's called epic for a reason. We spent more than 4 hours there without even noticing. Very well done exhibition, easy to access for all audiences. You can pick specific things or devour all the knowledge. There's something new around every corner. I really loved it there and enjoyed every minute. Very helpful and friendly staff also. Would recommend a visit to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank christinadA2696JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi christinadA2696JG,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! While we typically recommend an average visit last at least 90 minutes, we strongly encourage longer stays such as yours to truly see everything. Our staff are thankful of your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic museum. Informative, fun, beautiful artwork and great interactivity. Would really recommend

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank whybotherwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi whybotherwith,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found EPIC's content to be fun, informative and interactive! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An exceptional museum visit. Interactive, informative, engaging throughout. Superb exhibits. Friendly, engaging and knowledgeable staff. Would highly recommend this visit for any and all age groups. Makes you proud to be Irish! Well done everyone at Epic. Thank you!

Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lynne G,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! It's great to know you found the interactive material informative and engaging, too! Our staff are thankful for your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.


Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was an absolute pleasure to visit this fabulous place. EPIC is a museum of a new generation - a digital museum and I have never been in this. It tells us about the history of Ireland and brings amazing stories to life in a unique and spectacular way.
The Museum is just 5 minutes walk from the city centre along the beautiful River Liffey in CHQ building. No need for any transportation and you will have the chance of seeing the "Famine Statues Monuments" on the way.
Upon arrival at the Museum, the emigration control (reception), you receive a passport. This is your ticket to the museum. You are offered to visit 20 rooms with different exposures. In each room you can put a seal in your passport. Also, the visit includes English audioguides with very good pronunciation, simple words and shorts notes, not hours of lectures.
All displays are huge tablets (in hundredfold). At all, you can press and choose the most that you are interested. A large number of interactive. Children and men will have exactly what to do. You can also even try to learn to dance river dance.
At the very end, you can attach your passport (ticket) to a large tablet. He will offer you to send e-cards to yourself or your loved ones.
I strongly recommend Epic Museum to everyone who plans to visit Dublin, because it combines educational experience as well as an entertaining way to spend time.

Thank Elenline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Elenline,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! It's fantastic to know you made such a connection with EPIC's stories! It's great that you really loved the digital displays and passport feature, too.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing