We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful Fitzwilliam Townhouse Dublin, Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Ranked #37 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
“The wonderful Fitzwilliam Townhouse Dublin, Ireland”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I spent four days at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse in April of this year. It was a wonderful small hotel. The location was excellent, the building and the room itself were charming and, very important to me, very quiet. The cost was very reasonable too. Perhaps most importantly, the staff at reception, especially a gentleman by the name of Vimen, went out of their way to give me directions to places I wanted to visit, recommend restaurants (they were excellent recommendations) and look up bus schedules for me. My stay couldn't have been more perfect and I would not hesitate to highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Joan, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We do our best to assist our guests and especially with recommendation on restaurants. As you know, there are many nearby and it's can be difficult to choose. We get most of our information from Guest who stay with us, so having a chat with our customers is as informative for us as it is for our guests. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fitzwilliam Townhouse soon again. Kind regards. From All the staff and especially Vimen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    96
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
53
98
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights when we arrived in dublin from Belfast. There are no elevators and we were on the 3rd floor so pack light! Rooms were tight for suitcase space but were clean and the wifi worked well. Even though we faced the street, the curtains blocked out the light and noise well. No breakfast included but the restaurant below was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cook2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review, we are happy that you found your room comfortable and that your family enjoyed staying with us and that you had an excellent experience at breakfast time in Isabel's Restaurant. We hope that you will visit us again. Kind regards, The Staff at Fitzwilliam Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent the first three nights of our stay in Ireland at the Fitzwilliam, and found that although it was well suited to our needs and reasonably priced, there were a few downsides. The room (we stayed on the top floor) was on the small side, but the bathroom was particularly tiny (shower in bath). The bed was lumpy, and it was very noisy with general traffic and other street noise. We did enjoy the position, close to St Stephens Green, and an easy walk to Trinity College and on to the other major sights. Maybe a little too far from the night life, if that is what you are looking for. Lots of people mention the stairs, and they are very steep - being young and fit(ish) I didn't think it would be a problem, but it gets a bit annoying when you forget something in your room and have to bound up four flights! Maybe try lower down, and don't forget your earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzwilliam_dublin, Manager at Fitzwilliam Townhouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Luke&Leigh, Thank you for the image you loaded, what a photo, it looks great. Because it's a Georgian Townhouse we are very restricted with what adjustments we can make to rooms (the 4th floor was occupied by children & nannies in 1700's). Another restriction is that we are not permitted to install a lift, so we encourage guests to let us know in advance and we can allocate a lower floor and staff are happy to assist with luggage, the view is good though. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and it was lovely to have you here. Kind regards, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here for a week and found the guest house to be very affordable and better than most hotels I have stayed in. In terms of cleanliness and comfort its fantastic, the rooms are spotless, well heated and the staff are helpful and friendly.

The location is great, you are a couple of minutes walk away from St. Stephens Green shopping center and less than 10mins walk away from they Dublin City center and Temple bar area.

There are many bus and taxis services nearby and the bus service from Hueston train station will drop you very close to the guest house.

I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Baggot Court Townhouse
#26 of 149 in Dublin
320 reviews
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#6 of 149 in Dublin
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Donoghue's
#27 of 149 in Dublin
179 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#53 of 149 in Dublin
399 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 149 in Dublin
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Townhouse

Property: Fitzwilliam Townhouse
Address: 41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,019 - ₹ 13,637
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in our friendly & relaxing 3 star Guest House, you will be greeted by our professional staff who will strive to meet your every need with the utmost of attention to detail, ensuring you have a comfortable and carefree stay in Ireland's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilliam Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing